Revit Architecture

Reply
Valued Mentor
IMCornish
Posts: 258
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
Message 1 of 24 (6,160 Views)
Accepted Solution

Inches to the fourth power!

6160 Views, 23 Replies
06-21-2012 12:11 PM

Can anyone explain why, when I try an open a project file that was previously worked on and saved without incident, should produce a dialog box with the statement 'Inches to the fourth power' having only a 'close' button which after clicked sees no further action in opening the project?  I would point out that I work in metric and the project units on this file are set to the nearest 10mm.

Andrew Robertson
Chartered Architect
Robertson Partnership
Truro. UK
Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 2 of 24 (6,145 Views)

Re: Inches to the fourth power!

06-21-2012 05:26 PM in reply to: IMCornish

 'Inches to the fourth power' sounds like square inch to me.

Distinguished Contributor
robincapperw
Posts: 440
Registered: ‎11-12-2003
Message 3 of 24 (6,136 Views)

Re: Inches to the fourth power!

06-21-2012 09:00 PM in reply to: vector2

Revit revealing it's imperial heritage?

 

http://thebuildingcoder.typepad.com/blog/2011/03/internal-imperial-units.html

 

So sad they started with a measurement system most of the world has abandoned!

Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 4 of 24 (6,135 Views)

Re: Inches to the fourth power!

06-21-2012 09:31 PM in reply to: robincapperw

robincapperw wrote:

So sad they started with a measurement system most of the world has abandoned!


It's a measurement system used in the USA. Revit was born in the USA

so that's the primary measurement system it uses. But Revit can also

use measurement systems native to other countries. And it's not that

difficult to translate measurements and languages from one country to

another.

Valued Mentor
IMCornish
Posts: 258
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
Message 5 of 24 (6,123 Views)

Re: Inches to the fourth power!

06-22-2012 02:34 AM in reply to: vector2

Well thanks chaps!  I did not think that I was going to start a discussion about imperial versus metric measurement.  In case you missed it, the crux of my problem is that I cannot open the project.  Secondry is why I should get this cryptic message.  Any ideas please.

Andrew Robertson
Chartered Architect
Robertson Partnership
Truro. UK
*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,815
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 6 of 24 (6,117 Views)

Re: Inches to the fourth power!

06-22-2012 03:14 AM in reply to: IMCornish

One user in another forum commented that he had seen this error message, and that the reason for it was insufficient disk space in the server to open that file. I hope it helps.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Employee
Joe.Charpentier
Posts: 938
Registered: ‎02-28-2006
Message 7 of 24 (6,096 Views)

Re: Inches to the fourth power!

06-22-2012 06:55 AM in reply to: IMCornish

You may have a corrupt file.  Does the file size seem reasonable?

You don't say if the file is workshared and if more than one person is seeing this error, but you could try opening it detached from central and auditing it.

 

If that doesn't work, you should contact support and see if they can help you open it.

 

Joe 

 



Valued Mentor
IMCornish
Posts: 258
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
Message 8 of 24 (6,050 Views)

Re: Inches to the fourth power!

06-25-2012 08:59 AM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

I think that you must be right Alfredo.  I opened it with ease on a workstation so can only think that my laptop needs a little more memory.  thanks for you help.

I would still be interested why this message should be generated.  Is there a published guide to the dialogues that Revit might produce, perhaps the programme developers?

Andrew Robertson
Chartered Architect
Robertson Partnership
Truro. UK
*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,815
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 9 of 24 (6,023 Views)

Re: Inches to the fourth power!

06-26-2012 04:14 AM in reply to: IMCornish

I have not seen a list of error messages and their meaning. This error message is very strange, but at least now we now that it is caused by insufficient disk space.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Employee
loboarch
Posts: 978
Registered: ‎09-05-2003
Message 10 of 24 (6,018 Views)

Re: Inches to the fourth power!

06-26-2012 05:04 AM in reply to: IMCornish

IMCornish wrote:

Is there a published guide to the dialogues that Revit might produce, perhaps the programme developers?


There is not any kind of published guide to all of the possible error messages that Revit can produce.



Jeff Hanson
Sr. Subject Matter Expert
Autodesk, Revit User Experience

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube