Revit Architecture

Reply
Active Member
ddobbs1
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-29-2012
Message 1 of 11 (452 Views)

Importing a 3D CAD image

452 Views, 10 Replies
07-29-2012 01:01 PM

I am using Revit 2012 Architecture and I have tried to import a 3D drawing from the Wolf/Subzero appliance line.  When I try to import the drawing I get the message:

 

  "Some ACIS objects could not be imported. To import them, use AutoCAD to convert them into polymesh objects and reimport."

 

Can someone tell me how to go about converting the objects in basic/novice terms?

 

Thanks,

Del Dobbs

 

Valued Contributor
vector3
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎06-29-2012
Message 2 of 11 (441 Views)

Re: Importing a 3D CAD image

07-29-2012 03:51 PM in reply to: ddobbs1

ddobbs1 wrote:

 

  "Some ACIS objects could not be imported.  


Welcome to the forum ddobbs.

 

Ignore that message.

 

 

Mentor
parveen.revit
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 3 of 11 (424 Views)

Re: Importing a 3D CAD image

07-30-2012 04:14 AM in reply to: ddobbs1

 Explode 3D solid which converts it to Regions.

Type CONVTOMESH, select Region objects, and that's it.

Parveen_Intec_Infocom (BIM, CAD, GIS, QS Services' Provider)
Active Member
ddobbs1
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-29-2012
Message 4 of 11 (417 Views)

Re: Importing a 3D CAD image

07-30-2012 06:23 AM in reply to: parveen.revit

Thanks so much for the reply.  I am a novice at AutoCad a little bit more than a beginner at REVIT.  So do I open the drawing in AutoCad and perform the operation that you stated....resafe and then import it back into REVIT?

 

Thanks,

Del Dobbs

Valued Contributor
vector3
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎06-29-2012
Message 5 of 11 (404 Views)

Re: Importing a 3D CAD image

07-30-2012 11:59 AM in reply to: ddobbs1

You could for sure do all kinds of good things with .dwg files

and AutoCAD before importing them into Revit.

Active Member
ddobbs1
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-29-2012
Message 6 of 11 (388 Views)

Re: Importing a 3D CAD image

07-30-2012 05:21 PM in reply to: vector3

What do you mean?

 

Del Dobbs

Active Member
ddobbs1
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-29-2012
Message 7 of 11 (387 Views)

Re: Importing a 3D CAD image

07-30-2012 05:52 PM in reply to: parveen.revit

 

 

 

 

 

Above are the two messages I recieved after exploding the drawing and then converting it per your instructions.  Any other ideas or maybe there is something I did incorrectly?

 

Thanks again,

Del Dobbs

Active Member
ddobbs1
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-29-2012
Message 8 of 11 (386 Views)

Re: Importing a 3D CAD image

07-30-2012 05:53 PM in reply to: parveen.revit

Here is second part of the error message.

 

Mentor
parveen.revit
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 9 of 11 (376 Views)

Re: Importing a 3D CAD image

07-30-2012 08:03 PM in reply to: ddobbs1

this file is not created in AutoCAD, it is an DWG export from any other software.

you can open this in AutoCAD and use PROXYGRAPHICS  command and set the value to 1.

 

BTW, it would be interesting to know the reason behind import and if we can suggest a work around to avoid this import.

Parveen_Intec_Infocom (BIM, CAD, GIS, QS Services' Provider)
Active Member
ddobbs1
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-29-2012
Message 10 of 11 (363 Views)

Re: Importing a 3D CAD image

07-31-2012 06:36 PM in reply to: parveen.revit

I wanted to get the refrigerator in the kitchen plan I was designing for my new house.  On a different note...I managed to get it imported however it is lying on its back on the x-axis and it should be standing upright.  Is there anyway to change this orientation?

 

Thanks,

Del Dobbs

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube