Revit Architecture

Reply
Valued Contributor
mhamson
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎08-20-2002
Message 1 of 7 (1,323 Views)

Importing Revit file Issue

1323 Views, 6 Replies
05-23-2012 02:03 PM

Hello,

 

I'm trying to import one Revit file into another. When I try to link the file I get a dialogue box that says:

 

"The import geometry will not be visible in the view using current settings. The Oringin of the import will be centered on the origin of the model instead. You can view the import in any view where its geometry is within the extents."

 

For this it sounds like the imported model is way off to the side or way up high or low but even in a view that I increase the extents to maximum i can't see the object.

 

I've tried "center to centre" and "origin to origin"

 

I've check in the visual graphic and can't see anything turned off.

 

The file i am imported ia a structural model export from Tekla that I imported into a Revit and cleaned up. Everything looks fine when i open the file on it's own.

 

Help?

 

Mike

Contributor
troye
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-23-2012
Message 2 of 7 (1,321 Views)

Re: Importing Revit file Issue

05-23-2012 02:09 PM in reply to: mhamson

set the scale so it is the same. Be sure that the file you are trying to import does not have the file you are in linked back to it. In autocad it is called a circular reference, i am not sure what they call it in the BIM world. also be sure that the units are configured the same, inch to inch not inch to meter.

Valued Contributor
mhamson
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎08-20-2002
Message 3 of 7 (1,316 Views)

Re: Importing Revit file Issue

05-23-2012 02:17 PM in reply to: troye
Just checked.. Units in both models are set to the same units. The model I am trying to bring in does not have any files linked into it. Mike
Valued Contributor
mhamson
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎08-20-2002
Message 4 of 7 (1,314 Views)

Re: Importing Revit file Issue

05-23-2012 02:30 PM in reply to: mhamson

Funny thing is...if i bring my architectural model into the structural model...the reverse...it works fine and the building are overlaping in the same area.

Must be something to do with the visual graphics, cut planes.

Any other thoughts from anyone.

 

Mike

Valued Contributor
mhamson
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎08-20-2002
Message 5 of 7 (1,309 Views)

Re: Importing Revit file Issue

05-23-2012 02:46 PM in reply to: mhamson

OK...got it...for some reason structural did all their work using "Phase 3". Not sure why they are "Phasing" options this project. I'll have to get them to switch it or switch it each time they send me a new file.

There is 3 hours of my life I will never get back.

Hope this saves someone else some time.

 

Thanks

Mike

Contributor
troye
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-23-2012
Message 6 of 7 (1,297 Views)

Re: Importing Revit file Issue

05-23-2012 03:39 PM in reply to: mhamson

hey look on the bright side, wel,l if you get paid by the hour there is a bright side

Valued Contributor
mhamson
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎08-20-2002
Message 7 of 7 (1,281 Views)

Re: Importing Revit file Issue

05-24-2012 06:04 AM in reply to: troye
Yah.true.but the monitor I threw out the window in frustration will come out of my pay.L Mike

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube