Revit Architecture

Valued Contributor
rlewistx
Message 1 of 6 (133 Views)

Importing ADT files

133 Views, 5 Replies
02-04-2004 06:53 AM
I am new to Revit. I am working is Architectural Desktop 2004. Are there some white papers of how I can take a finished ADT model into Revit and render it? Would this be an appropriate thing to do, or should I stick with VIZ?

Any web links for integrating the two would be helpful.

Thanks.
*Aaron Rumple
Message 2 of 6 (133 Views)

Re: Importing ADT files

02-04-2004 09:36 AM in reply to: rlewistx
You could bring it into Revit, but I'm not sure it would be worth the effort. You'll stil have to sort through a lot of material assignments just as you would in Viz. In fact in the time it takes you to get it all finished in ADT/Viz, I could brobably redraw it from scratch in Revit. "rlewistx" wrote in message news:24501856.1075906432494.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum1.autodesk.com... > I am new to Revit. I am working is Architectural Desktop 2004. Are there some white papers of how I can take a finished ADT model into Revit and render it? Would this be an appropriate thing to do, or should I stick with VIZ? > > Any web links for integrating the two would be helpful. > > Thanks.
Distinguished Contributor
BobKellerman
Message 3 of 6 (133 Views)

02-08-2004 04:35 PM in reply to: rlewistx
Hi -- if you mean Vizrender (the only form of Viz that links to ADT2004 files), why would you want to bring the model into Revit to render? To my taste, Accurender's results are not as pretty as Viz family renderings, but they are good. If the model remains in ADT, you can link to Vizrender with one click.
If you don't want to recreate the model in Revit for some other reason, why go through the extra work? You can work from scratch in Revit next time. Am I missing something? If so, sorry.
Bob