Revit Architecture

Reply
Active Contributor
gjettner
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎09-20-2005
Message 31 of 42 (342 Views)

Re: Import CAD

02-22-2010 07:27 PM in reply to: RBartsch
Would love a copy of your lisp routine. Happy to pay for it.

gjettner
Member
mikemcculley5692
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-02-2009
Message 32 of 42 (342 Views)

Re: Import CAD

02-23-2010 05:11 AM in reply to: RBartsch
this will be my last post to this thread as it seems to be going nowhere. vector2, i referenced "surveyor's work" because if you knew anything you would know that any and all site planning, design, etc. should start with a survey.

If anyone following this can help with importing Civil 3D drawing files into Revit, the assistance would be appreciated.
*TomAlton
Message 33 of 42 (342 Views)

Re: Import CAD

02-23-2010 05:34 AM in reply to: RBartsch
Mike,
Leave a post for Matt Dillon, he should be able to give you very valid information.




wrote in message news:6342207@discussion.autodesk.com...
this will be my last post to this thread as it seems to be going nowhere. vector2, i referenced "surveyor's work" because if you
knew anything you would know that any and all site planning, design, etc. should start with a survey.

If anyone following this can help with importing Civil 3D drawing files into Revit, the assistance would be appreciated.
*The Dark Princess
Message 34 of 42 (342 Views)

Re: Import CAD

02-23-2010 08:23 AM in reply to: RBartsch
what usually happens for us is that we see one or two whack points which we
simply adjust manually. revit does a great job but it isn't up to speed
with terrain modelling software as far as I can tell.

--
TDP

First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

The Doctor
"Brian Winterscheidt" wrote in message
news:6341422@discussion.autodesk.com...
On 2/21/2010 1:08 AM, The Dark Princess wrote:
> I have a lisp that takes acad survey and creates all 3d points necessary
> for
> revit to create topography in seconds and far more accurately...

I have a question on these lisp-to-point methods and resulting accuracy
in Revit:

I have encountered problems on creating topo in Revit where all points
obtained from a linked .dwg file are accurate, but Revit does not
triangulate/connect these points in the same order as the original .dwg,
resulting in inaccurate topography, particularly in areas of steep grade
change (retaining walls, etc.).

Do your results from this lisp method overcome that, or have you ever
encountered this problem?

--
Brian Winterscheidt
LWPB Architecture
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,813
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 35 of 42 (342 Views)

Re: Import CAD

02-23-2010 08:33 AM in reply to: RBartsch
Did you lose your patience with Vector2? Welcome to the club!
Please post your e-mail address for further help.

Alfredo Medina
info@planta1.com
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Member
mikemcculley5692
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-02-2009
Message 36 of 42 (342 Views)

Re: Import CAD

02-23-2010 08:37 AM in reply to: RBartsch
I did. Useless name calling doesn't help anyone. Thanks for the reply.

Mike McCulley, RLS
mikem@a2h.com
*Matt Dillon
Message 37 of 42 (342 Views)

Re: Import CAD

02-23-2010 08:55 AM in reply to: RBartsch
Mike,

Does Civil3D have the ability to export an ADSK file? If I'm not mistaken,
it does (although I don't personally have access to a copy right now to
verify). If it does, export the Civil3D drawing to ADSK format, and then
open it in Revit Architecture. From there you should be able to save it to a
Revit Family or Project.

If not, then you can import it as a DWG on the "Import" ribbon. However the
Civil3D drawing may contain elements that Revit won't understand as it isn't
"vanilla" AutoCAD. In that case, look for a tool in Civil3D to export to an
AutoCAD format, then insert the resulting file into Revit.

A note about importing DWG files into Revit however - It's not usually a
good idea to do that if you can avoid it for a variety of reasons, most of
which have to do with performance and stability. If you need to import the
civil drawing to create a toposurface, delete the drawing once you've got
the toposurface created. If you need to import it into a project to plot, I
would suggest you import it into a "dummy" project and not your real one.
Create a "dummy sheet" in the real project to allow the Civil sheet from the
dummy project to be listed in the drawing list.

--

"mikemcculley5692" wrote in message news:6342207@discussion.autodesk.com...
this will be my last post to this thread as it seems to be going nowhere.
vector2, i referenced "surveyor's work" because if you knew anything you
would know that any and all site planning, design, etc. should start with a
survey.

If anyone following this can help with importing Civil 3D drawing files into
Revit, the assistance would be appreciated.
Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 38 of 42 (342 Views)

Re: Import CAD

02-23-2010 10:19 AM in reply to: RBartsch
here's Matt Dillon helping

"A note about importing DWG files into Revit however - It's not usually a
good idea to do that if you can avoid it for a variety of reasons, most of
which have to do with performance and stability." thanks Matt..



(my head) "seems to be going nowhere. vector2, i referenced "surveyor's work" because
if you knew anything you would know that any and all site planning, design, etc.
should start with a survey."

i have said over and over that importing a DWG site plan into a separate
session of revit to build the site plan and then prepare it for linking to the
project file is more convenient than just viewing the site plan and building
it from scratch.. Edited by: Discussion_Admin on Feb 23, 2010 3:04 PM
*Matt Dillon
Message 39 of 42 (342 Views)

Re: Import CAD

02-23-2010 10:58 AM in reply to: RBartsch
Frankly, you alternate between being mildly
amusing, unbelievably hilarious, and more than just a little bit creepy.

Second - you missed the entire point of my reply to Mike as well as his
original question, as usual.

-- Edited by: Discussion_Admin on Feb 23, 2010 3:07 PM
Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 40 of 42 (342 Views)

Re: Import CAD

02-23-2010 11:56 AM in reply to: RBartsch
Matt- i want some of what you know
about architecture and drafting.. and
i like your approach to learning revit.. Edited by: Discussion_Admin on Feb 23, 2010 3:08 PM

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube