Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to show only structural layers for walls in floor plan views?

9 REPLIES 9
SOLVED
Message 1 of 10
uldisval
11196 Views, 9 Replies

How to show only structural layers for walls in floor plan views?

I'm just learning Revit Architecture and have faced the following problem:

As an exercise I'm trying to create a simple house plan from drawings in Revit. The problem is - in the drawings wall dimensions are shown only for wall core boundaries and non core layers are not taken into account and are not shown in floor plan view.

How can I hide/disable wall non core layers in plan views? And I how can I show dimensions just for wall core boundaries?

By googling I've found one possible solution - use two walls one behind another. First is just structural wall and second - just insulation. But then there is nightmare with Windows, doors and other elements that goes through walls.

Uldis

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
ryan.duell
in reply to: uldisval

When you add dimensions in Revit, you have the options below:

Wall centerlines
Wall faces
Center of Core
Faces of Core

Even if you have the Detail Level set to Coarse [where the individual layers are not visible] the dimension line will still snap to the setting above you choose.  You can use the TAB key if you need to refine the point.

If you show the Detail Level at Coarse the individual wall layers will not be visible.

Also, if you did choose to create 2 walls [one structural and one finish], if you use Join Geometry between these two adjacent walls hosted elements such as doors / windows would automatically cut both walls.

Thank you,

Ryan Duell
Message 3 of 10
rosskirby