Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to create family types

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
Anonymous
322 Views, 4 Replies

How to create family types

Hi

I would like to create family type with drop down list as shown in the image.

Could you guide me about formulas & values  in family type window.

How it is created and for what?

If possible clarify with images.(because i am a beginner to REVIT)

Thanks

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
AJA14
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi,

Not sure I understand but creating family types is fairly simple. Click on new familiy type (top right of the dialog in the picture), new name, change the parameters to account for the new type.

You can have hundreds of types for a single family, when you load the family, they all load with it.

Advice: If you need more that 10 types, I would recommend creating a type catalog. Might be confusing at first but very easy to accomplish.

If I misuderstood let me know.

Regards,

Ali Al-Hammoud
Structural Design Engineer
MZ & Partners Engineering Consultancy
Message 3 of 5
Anonymous
in reply to: AJA14

Hi gentleman,

I think you misunderstood.

I hope you get it by seeing the image below.

I need to know how to show different material by drop down list as shown in the image .(A video file may easy for me to understand)

What is formula & and its function here
[familytype2.JPG]

Thanks