Revit Architecture

Reply
Member
Hondler
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-06-2013
Message 1 of 9 (413 Views)

House Plan

413 Views, 8 Replies
12-06-2013 06:42 PM

I am new to Revit, and I will be posting a few questions every now and then. I am currently trying to design a two storey house for my drafting class. I am now putting the finishing touches to it, putting in furniture, the washroom, etc. For some reason after I put my furniture down, the lines of the bottom of the furniture are not visible. To make things more clear, I put a toilet down, but the lines where the toilet meets the floor are gone. Anything I can do to fix it?

Distinguished Contributor
awes
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎10-05-2011
Message 2 of 9 (392 Views)

Re: House Plan

12-07-2013 02:40 AM in reply to: Hondler

Thanks for posting! Have you checked the view range in the properties for your view?

Member
Hondler
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-06-2013
Message 3 of 9 (335 Views)

Re: House Plan

12-09-2013 05:20 PM in reply to: Hondler

I'm not sure where to find that. Sorry for my extreme lack of knowledge

*Expert Elite*
LisaDrago
Posts: 1,362
Registered: ‎05-08-2009
Message 4 of 9 (329 Views)

Re: House Plan

12-09-2013 05:35 PM in reply to: Hondler

Hello and Welcome to the discussion!

 

A few thoughts... Can you cut a section through it and post it?

 

Where is your floor at? Is it sitting at the level or have you offset it? 

 

Is the component sitting on the floor or is there an offset on that pushing it down?

 

Any images you can post of what is happening is always helpful.

 

LD


If this helped solve your issue - remember to 'accept as solution' to help other find answers!
You can't think AutoCAD and run Revit.
Email: LisaDragoEE@gmail.com
Member
Hondler
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-06-2013
Message 5 of 9 (304 Views)

Re: House Plan

12-10-2013 05:58 PM in reply to: Hondler

ToiletHere's a pic of what I'm having trouble with, the lines on the bottom are gone

Mentor
mike
Posts: 237
Registered: ‎03-04-2004
Message 6 of 9 (288 Views)

Re: House Plan

12-11-2013 04:33 AM in reply to: Hondler

One of two things comes to mind............1.  If you have a "Floor" check it's thickness vs the level it has been assigned to.......Floor will be "raised" by thickness above that level.............

2.  If floor is placed that way, or it its correct, check the 'Level Offset' of the Toilet........what is happeneing is that the toilet  bottom is below the top of the Floor or level, and/or the viewrange is set to 0 for the level and below.

 

HTH,

 

Mike

Michael L. Maloney
Virtual World Designs
VDC & BIM Model Design, Clash & Coordination
mike@VirtualWorldDesigns.com
Building Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014, 2015
Charlotte, NC ; Fort Mill, SC
Member
Hondler
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-06-2013
Message 7 of 9 (265 Views)

Re: House Plan

12-11-2013 08:00 PM in reply to: Hondler

Many thanks I get it now. So what can I do to fix it?

Mentor
mike
Posts: 237
Registered: ‎03-04-2004
Message 8 of 9 (248 Views)

Re: House Plan

12-12-2013 05:27 AM in reply to: Hondler

Like Lisa said, cut a section thru that area so we can see exactly what you have (or not)..........

 

M.

Michael L. Maloney
Virtual World Designs
VDC & BIM Model Design, Clash & Coordination
mike@VirtualWorldDesigns.com
Building Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014, 2015
Charlotte, NC ; Fort Mill, SC
Member
Hondler
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-06-2013
Message 9 of 9 (197 Views)

Re: House Plan

12-17-2013 07:31 PM in reply to: Hondler

Sorry for the late reply, but I think I've got it now- I put flooring in, then I offset the ceiling at a lower height. One last question though: How can I put a pond/lake on my property?

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube