Revit Architecture

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
kate_vanhout
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎06-30-2010
Message 1 of 4 (189 Views)

Generic Annotation Family

189 Views, 3 Replies
11-01-2012 08:14 AM

I am using Revit Architecture 2013 and have created a garage floor drain as a generic annotation because it doesnt need to be on the 3D views.  But I would like to be able to pull this annotation in on the main/garage level and place it there and have it automaticall show up on the foundation plan without having to copy and past another floor drain onto that level.  Is there a way to get this floor drain to show up on both levels!?

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,797
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 2 of 4 (185 Views)

Re: Generic Annotation Family

11-01-2012 08:18 AM in reply to: kate_vanhout

Annotations display only in the view where you place them. What if you make it a model family, plumbing fixture category, and simply turn off that category in the 3d views?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Distinguished Contributor
kate_vanhout
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎06-30-2010
Message 3 of 4 (182 Views)

Re: Generic Annotation Family

11-01-2012 08:23 AM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

This was how I originally did it but then there were other families in the same category that I did want showing up.  I don't want to have to individually pick families to turn off and on in 3D views.  I would like to be able to load this family into my template and when someone places it, it will show up in the views it should and not show up in views it shouldn't.  I really wish there was an option when creating families to have the family not show up in 3D views like it allows you to choose if it will show up on the floor plan or elevations.

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 2,941
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 4 (171 Views)

Re: Generic Annotation Family

11-01-2012 08:51 AM in reply to: kate_vanhout

Perhaps you can embed the Generic Annotation into a Plumbing Fixture Family that...

A.) has completely invisible model elements.

B.) has model elements that only appear in a Detail Level that you don't use in your 3D Views.

C.) simply contains no model elements at all.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube