Revit Architecture

Reply
Active Member
Danpr
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-25-2008
Message 1 of 8 (288 Views)

Faulty Material

288 Views, 7 Replies
08-26-2008 02:48 PM
Can anyone tell my why my materials wont work? the generic brick wall renders, but the object next to it renders gray, even though it is supposed to render green. The triangular object was imported as layer green. I changed the material under imported object styles, what am i missing?
*Jeff Hanson \(Autodesk\)
Message 2 of 8 (288 Views)

Re: Faulty Material

08-26-2008 04:42 PM in reply to: Danpr
Is the "render appearance" of the material set? You may only have a shaded
display set for the material. Ther "render appeaeance" is a seperate
setting.

--
Jeff Hanson
Autodesk - AEC User Experience Team
Manchester, NH


wrote in message news:6016611@discussion.autodesk.com...
Can anyone tell my why my materials wont work? the generic brick wall
renders, but the object next to it renders gray, even though it is supposed
to render green. The triangular object was imported as layer green. I
changed the material under imported object styles, what am i missing?
Active Member
Danpr
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-25-2008
Message 3 of 8 (288 Views)

Re: Faulty Material

08-27-2008 01:29 PM in reply to: Danpr
For example: I export a solid green block from Sketchup as a dwg. Import into Revit under CAD formats, origin to origin, preserve colors. The shading remains green in the Revit family. I go to view properties of the object, visibility/graphics overrides, imported categories, then object styles. the block was imported under a single layer titled green. I change the material of layer green, from the generic gray to a green material, save changes. when i import this family into a project, all of the parameters remain the same, under view properties it still shows the layer as rendering green, but when i actually go to render, nothing but gray.
*Jeff Hanson \(Autodesk\)
Message 4 of 8 (288 Views)

Re: Faulty Material

08-27-2008 01:43 PM in reply to: Danpr
I don't really use this workflow when creating families so I don't have much
experience but it sounds like the material definition is dropping from the
family when used in a project. When you are in the project can you see this
layer from the family in the object styles dialog? If so is the material
set correctly there? I would check to see if it is right in the project as
well as the family before import.

--
Jeff Hanson
Autodesk - AEC User Experience Team
Manchester, NH


wrote in message news:6017773@discussion.autodesk.com...
For example: I export a solid green block from Sketchup as a dwg. Import
into Revit under CAD formats, origin to origin, preserve colors. The shading
remains green in the Revit family. I go to view properties of the object,
visibility/graphics overrides, imported categories, then object styles. the
block was imported under a single layer titled green. I change the material
of layer green, from the generic gray to a green material, save changes.
when i import this family into a project, all of the parameters remain the
same, under view properties it still shows the layer as rendering green, but
when i actually go to render, nothing but gray.
Active Member
Danpr
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-25-2008
Message 5 of 8 (288 Views)

Re: Faulty Material

08-27-2008 08:27 PM in reply to: Danpr
I have checked the material settings of the layer within the project. it says that it is supposed to render as the green material i desire, but it still turns out gray
Distinguished Contributor
Scott_Womack
Posts: 1,665
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 8 (288 Views)

Re: Faulty Material

08-28-2008 03:04 AM in reply to: Danpr
Have you looked at the Rendering Appearance of the material definition itself under Settings/Materials?

Scott Womack
Active Member
Danpr
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-25-2008
Message 7 of 8 (288 Views)

Re: Faulty Material

08-28-2008 12:31 PM in reply to: Danpr
yes, it is set under render appearance to render as Plastic Dark Green Matte Textured with single color RGB 049 081 018, but still renders as gray
New Member
NEVINE0328
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-29-2010
Message 8 of 8 (286 Views)

Re: Faulty Material

06-29-2010 06:45 AM in reply to: Danpr

 All blocks or elements you imported from AutoCAD should be the colors - bylayer first in AutoCAD to have the right to change in Revit program. 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube