Revit Architecture

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
DaveDrahn
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎01-13-2003
Message 1 of 5 (437 Views)
Accepted Solution

Family will not change type after load

437 Views, 4 Replies
02-21-2012 04:58 PM

I'm going through a tutorial on families (Paul Aubin) and have created a shelf w/ nested brackets that works as expected when flexed in the family editor.  Any project I load it into shows it at its default configuration, but when I select it in the project and change it's type in the properties box, the configuration does not flex - it stays as inserted.  It also shows my parameters in the properties box as individually modifiable.

 

Anyone know off hand what I'm missing?

 

Thanks.

Product Support
fernanda.firman
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎10-07-2011
Message 2 of 5 (425 Views)

Re: Family will not change type after load

02-22-2012 01:04 PM in reply to: DaveDrahn

Could you please post the family?



Fernanda Lima Firman
Technical Support Specialist
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Revit Clinic


If this helped solve your issue - remember to 'accept as solution' to help others find answers.
Distinguished Contributor
DaveDrahn
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎01-13-2003
Message 3 of 5 (415 Views)

Re: Family will not change type after load

02-22-2012 02:28 PM in reply to: fernanda.firman

Sure.

Employee
ryan.duell
Posts: 734
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 4 of 5 (402 Views)

Re: Family will not change type after load

02-23-2012 05:42 AM in reply to: DaveDrahn

Currently your parameters in the family are all set > “Instance”.

 

Modify the “Width”, “Thickness” and “Depth” parameters to be “Type” in the family instead. For an expansion on how instance parameters are remembered, which explains why they do not update in the project, see the post here:

 

http://insidethefactory.typepad.com/my_weblog/2010/12/perfecting-the-palette.html

 

Thank you,



Ryan Duell
Autodesk, Inc.

Revit Clinic
@revitclinic


Distinguished Contributor
DaveDrahn
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎01-13-2003
Message 5 of 5 (389 Views)

Re: Family will not change type after load

02-23-2012 01:27 PM in reply to: ryan.duell

Thank you!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube