Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Exporting backgrounds - please help!

3 REPLIES 3
SOLVED
Message 1 of 4
Ixath
2094 Views, 3 Replies

Exporting backgrounds - please help!

I am looking for assistance with finding an efficient way to export 2D and 3D backgrounds from Revit. I am a complete beginner with Revit so please ignore my ignorance if I can't explain my problem very well.

The  GC provides us with Revit files. There are separate Revit files for Structural, Interiors, Architectural, Plumbing, Mechanical, etc. Each of these separate Revit files has the associated 3D model and all of the page layouts and annotation necessary for that set of prints.

They do not provide  2D or 3D backgrounds (to use in AutoCAD or Navis or whatever), so we are left to extract and make those ourselves. Each time one of their Revit models is updated, we have to re-create the backgrounds. It's a multi-story building and our current process is very tedious (and probably incorrect):

• We open each Revit file (Interiors.rvt for my example)
  • Open the page to export, ex.: VIEWS - FLOOR PLAN - EXPORTS -> Floor Plan: LEVEL 1
  • Export that page via:  EXPORT - CAD FORMATS - DWG (and change settings as necessary, like enabling Shared Coordinates, turning off certain elements, AutoCAD version, etc.)
  • Repeat this process for the remaining 6 floors for the Interiors.rvt, and then switch to the next drawing (Structural.rvt) and do all the floors manually.. and on, and on, and on.. until all the floors are done for all of the files.

What is the easiest way to automate this? If I save something internally to one of the Revit files to extract, it will have to be set up each time we get a new .rvt file.