Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Drop-Down Menus in Shared Parameters

2 REPLIES 2
Message 1 of 3
jakobwithak
3216 Views, 2 Replies

Drop-Down Menus in Shared Parameters

I am a student working on a research project exploring the integration of LEED criteria with BIM software, and I am exploring the use of both Revit and Excel to accomplish this task.  One major problem that I am running into though, is with Shared Parameters.

I have created a set of LEED-specific shared parameters in Revit.  These parameters are things like "Plumbing Fixture Family," "Plumbing Fixture Type," "Ventilation Zone," "Refrigerant Use," etc... basically different parameters that will inform an Excel spreadsheet containing formulas to calculate, ultimately, the total points awarded for each LEED credit.

My problem, is that in Excel, the names of the values for these shared parameters need to be very specific in order for it to work with the formulas I have created.  What I need from Revit is the ability to create a shared parameter with a drop-down menu containing a set number of options that can be applied to any component in a project, so this can be done early-on in Revit, rather than after-the-fact in Excel.  Such as choosing the type of refrigerant used in HVAC&R equipment (and yes, you could just type the refrigerant type into a text parameter field, but if it's not typed exactly as it is in the pre-determined formula it is associated with in Excel, it will return an error in Excel, which is less than desirable - a drop down would reduce/eliminate the margin of error).

Is there any way to accomplish this task?  From what I have found online, this is only slightly possible in Family Parameters - I haven't found anything about Shared Parameters...any ideas?

2 REPLIES 2