Revit Architecture

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎04-13-2010
Message 1 of 4 (286 Views)
Accepted Solution

Door cutting out a wall wrap element at opening

286 Views, 3 Replies
10-04-2013 06:56 AM

Is the attached possible? I'm trying to cut out the plaster wrap to a wall, but can't figure out how to do it.

 

I've had a look at using reference planes in the door family object, but they don't seem to be able to do this?

 

Simply checking the wall type to wrap at only the external insert isn't going to work as I want the recess in the plaster to be away from the door frame edge.

*Expert Elite*
constantin.stroescu
Posts: 832
Registered: ‎10-29-2008
Message 2 of 4 (242 Views)

Re: Door cutting out a wall wrap element at opening

10-04-2013 01:42 PM in reply to: ChuckEdwards

Image 242.png

the steps:

 

  1. Create a New Family using Door Template
  2. Erase the Opening and change it with an Extruded Void (see Image 243)
  3. Define the Reference Plane that borders the door frame in exterior as Wall Closure ( so as the exterior wrap  to stop to it instead to stop to the center of the wall) -see Image 244

Attached you can find a rfa file with these....

Constantin Stroescu
BIM Manager AGD
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎04-13-2010
Message 3 of 4 (192 Views)

Re: Door cutting out a wall wrap element at opening

10-05-2013 02:28 PM in reply to: constantin.stroescu

Constantin, just trying this, using an existing pocket sliding door type I've found on Revit City, I've created a Void>Extrusion, yet for some reason it doesn't cut the wall? Could you suggest where I'm going wrong with this?

 

I can see the void object alright but there is simply no cutting happening, unlike with the existing extruded void in this door family object.

 

The properties of my small void (orange) and the existing also see different?

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎04-13-2010
Message 4 of 4 (186 Views)

Re: Door cutting out a wall wrap element at opening

10-05-2013 02:50 PM in reply to: ChuckEdwards

Found it, hadn't gone to the Modify>Cut Geometry tool, and extra step I wasn't aware I needed.

 

Do that and it cuts fine...

 

Thanks for your help!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube