Revit Architecture

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎10-09-2004
Message 1 of 11 (1,019 Views)

Dimensioning 3D drafting views

1019 Views, 10 Replies
04-09-2012 11:54 AM

Anyone know if it is possible to create proper dimensions for 3D isometric drafting views? In AutoCAD I could set an oblique angle for a dimension but in Revit there is no setting. I can only dimension 3D model views.

 

See attached PDF for example.

Employee
loboarch
Posts: 963
Registered: ‎09-05-2003
Message 2 of 11 (1,006 Views)

Re: Dimensioning 3D drafting views

04-09-2012 12:55 PM in reply to: paul

Ther is no oblique dimension style in Revit.  You could do this kind of view as a 3d model view with elements hidden, a section box and the line work tool.



Jeff Hanson
Sr. Subject Matter Expert
Autodesk, Revit User Experience
Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎10-09-2004
Message 3 of 11 (999 Views)

Re: Dimensioning 3D drafting views

04-09-2012 01:09 PM in reply to: loboarch

I thought so. Unfortunately if you want to reuse the detail across multiple project it means recreating it each time. :smileysad:

Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 4 of 11 (874 Views)

Re: Dimensioning 3D drafting views

04-27-2012 11:15 PM in reply to: paul

Possibly this is what you are looking for.

Mentor
parveen.revit
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 5 of 11 (837 Views)

Re: Dimensioning 3D drafting views

04-29-2012 10:08 PM in reply to: paul

it's not feasible in revit drafting view.

 

intersting point to raise though...

Parveen_Intec_Infocom (BIM, CAD, GIS, QS Services' Provider)
*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,797
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 6 of 11 (816 Views)

Re: Dimensioning 3D drafting views

04-30-2012 09:47 AM in reply to: parveen.revit

The tip shown by Vector about changing the workplane to apply dimensions in 3D views is useful, but it does not apply to drafting views (the topic in this thread) since a drafting view is just a flat drawing with no workplanes.

 

In a drafting view, you can use the regular Aligned dimension tool to fully dimension the drafting view, even if it is an isometric kind of view. The only missing feature would be the "oblique" angle, but apart from that, you can dimension everything.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 7 of 11 (762 Views)

Re: Dimensioning 3D drafting views

04-30-2012 05:23 PM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

Alfredo_Medina wrote:

"drafting views (the topic in this thread)" 



Are you saying if that drawing I posted on that Revit sheet came

from AutoCAD that it would not be a drafting view? (the topic of

this thread). Where does it have to come from to quality as a

drafting view? Remember they only asked for dimensions on

a drafting view. 

 

Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 8 of 11 (757 Views)

Re: Dimensioning 3D drafting views

04-30-2012 05:49 PM in reply to: parveen.revit

parveen.revit wrote:

"it's not feasible in a revit drafting view."

 

That's correct but they didn't say anything about doing

this in a revit drafting view. 

 

 

Mentor
parveen.revit
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 9 of 11 (740 Views)

Re: Dimensioning 3D drafting views

05-01-2012 02:04 AM in reply to: paul

Revit is different than AutoCAD and this is one the functionalily (oblique dimensions) which Revit doesn't have.

 

Parveen_Intec_Infocom (BIM, CAD, GIS, QS Services' Provider)
*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,797
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 10 of 11 (721 Views)

Re: Dimensioning 3D drafting views

05-01-2012 05:29 AM in reply to: vector2

vector2 wrote:

parveen.revit wrote:

"it's not feasible in a revit drafting view."

 

That's correct but they didn't say anything about doing

this in a revit drafting view. 


Not true. The original post in this thread begins with "Anyone know if it is possible to create proper dimensions for 3D isometric drafting views?" 

 

A drafting view is flat, even if it shows a "3d" representation of an object. Therefore you cannot dimension that drafting view by setting workplanes because it is not possible to set a different workplane in a drafting view.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube