Revit Architecture

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
tonkata
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎03-22-2011
Message 1 of 3 (178 Views)
Accepted Solution

DWG on a Drafting View

178 Views, 2 Replies
08-25-2013 09:40 PM

I have a DWG Site Survey already inserted in my project, but need to place it on a Drafting View sheet to further add annotation. Any idea how this is done?

Mentor
MKEllis
Posts: 227
Registered: ‎03-02-2013
Message 2 of 3 (151 Views)

Re: DWG on a Drafting View

08-26-2013 12:40 AM in reply to: tonkata

Not sure exactly what you are trying to do with it - but can you not use a 'normal' view ? You don't copy the site plan into a dedicated view, rather you create a separate view of the same linked CAD site drawing.

 

You could copy a plan view of the site, and use that to add your annotations and notes ? Use the view settings in that view to toggle the display of content that you do or do not want to be visible (press VG when in the view to bring up the options, or, with the display active go to the Properties section and access the Visibility / Graphics Overide from there).

 

Any lines, annotations, regions, annotations, dims etc. that you place in that view will only be in that view, which should accomplish what I think you are trying to achieve.

 

You can also do the opposite. If you've brought your site plan into the Revit project - and say it's the existing site plan to which you want to add notes, but then obviously don't want that to appear in other new construction views. You simply have to set the view graphics options on those other views to not display the linked file.

 

Revit offers another degree of manipulation with the linked CAD file as well - not only can you switch the display of linked files on/off - but you can also toggle the display of individual layers in that file (Again through the Visibility / Graphics overide).

Distinguished Contributor
tonkata
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎03-22-2011
Message 3 of 3 (132 Views)

Re: DWG on a Drafting View

08-26-2013 07:23 AM in reply to: tonkata
Some interesting solutions. I thought about your last point, problem is the line work I need to hide or change is part of a layer that has many other annotations attached.

Anyway I think there's a few good solutions you've given me, so I'll give that a go.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.