Revit Architecture

Reply
Valued Contributor
jason.teagle
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎06-22-2010
Message 1 of 5 (459 Views)

'Cut Structural Member with Plane' not working as detailed in wiki

459 Views, 4 Replies
09-11-2013 01:43 AM

I'm trying to use the information given in the 'Cut Structural Member with Plane' topic in the wiki (http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Revit/enu/2013/Help/00001-Revit_He0/2760-Tools_an2760/2812-Editing_2812...), but it does not seem to work as advertised. 

 

The element I am trying to cut is a family instance I have constructed myself, based on the Generic Model template. I have inserted the reference plane as instructed (see attached image). 

 

Whilst the Cut Geometry function has no problem accepting my element as the element to cut, Revit then asks me to select the Family Instance to cut with. According to the wiki, I should be able to select the reference plane - which is exactly what I want, to add a custom cut angle to the component. Needless to say the software won't let me select the plane as the family instance. 

 

Any idea if I'm doing something wrong? I did find an entry on here mentioning generic models but unfortunately it received no answer at the time. I hope to have better luck! 

 

*Expert Elite*
LisaDrago
Posts: 1,362
Registered: ‎05-08-2009
Message 2 of 5 (426 Views)

Re: 'Cut Structural Member with Plane' not working as detailed in wiki

09-11-2013 12:01 PM in reply to: jason.teagle

Hello - 

 

I gave it a try and did not have any issues...

I reread your post and the thing that jumps out to me is the generic model... 

So I went and put a column in, and then created one from a generic model and put it in... 

I did the cut with the reference plane and could cut the OTB column - mine would not cut..

 

It is because it is a generic model... Once I change it to a structural column - I could cut it. Image attached. 

So you need to change the Family Category and then you will be able to cut it with a reference plane.

 

LD


If this helped solve your issue - remember to 'accept as solution' to help other find answers!
You can't think AutoCAD and run Revit.
Email: LisaDragoEE@gmail.com
Valued Contributor
jason.teagle
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎06-22-2010
Message 3 of 5 (401 Views)

Re: 'Cut Structural Member with Plane' not working as detailed in wiki

09-12-2013 12:50 AM in reply to: LisaDrago

Thank you for your reply.

 

The problem with basing our family on a column or any other named type is that that type's template starts with prefined parameters and behaviour that restricts free use of the element in the drawing (perhaps for good reason, but that is a matter of debate). Because I am trying to design this family to allow us to export our AutoCAD-based models into IFC format for Revit to import, we need to be able to represent our model elements (custom objects) in a way that is as freeform as possible, so that as much of the flexibility in our AutoCAD model's objects as possible can be emulated in Revit - otherwise importing the model into Revit would be of little use to the customer.

 

If the answer is 'you can't cut a generic model with a reference plane' then my question [for the Revit development team] is why? This is an extruded solid, so it has physical form just like a column or anything else - why can't a plane be used to cut such a solid in the same way as it can cut a column?

 

A better question for now is, how *can* I apply a cut to a generic model? I cannot believe it is not possible. I do not understand why such heavy restrictions have been placed on Revit objects and why there is such inconsistency.

 

 

Valued Contributor
jason.teagle
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎06-22-2010
Message 4 of 5 (393 Views)

Re: 'Cut Structural Member with Plane' not working as detailed in wiki

09-12-2013 02:19 AM in reply to: jason.teagle
Let me rephrase that last question: How can I specify a cut to be made on an element (from a family based on the Generic Model family) - a cut that completely removes the end of the element - in a way that can be specified in an IFC file (so that when Revit loads the model, it sees the 'cut' instruction / object and applies the cut to the model based on the parameters).
*Expert Elite*
constantin.stroescu
Posts: 958
Registered: ‎10-29-2008
Message 5 of 5 (388 Views)

Re: 'Cut Structural Member with Plane' not working as detailed in wiki

09-12-2013 02:49 AM in reply to: jason.teagle

Having already the family made as Generic Model I suggest to open it and make a parametric Void and Cut your element with it. Check the option :Cut with Voids when Loaded and then Load it into the project...

 

I"ve attached a rough example of such a family...

Image 3.png

 

Image 4.png

Constantin Stroescu
BIM Manager AGD

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube