Revit Architecture

Reply
Contributor
madone55
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎05-15-2008
Message 1 of 12 (3,143 Views)
Accepted Solution

Curved Ramps

3143 Views, 11 Replies
09-25-2012 12:40 AM

Revit seems to have trouble with doing curved ramps. Is doing a floor slab and modifying sub elements my only option?

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,813
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 2 of 12 (3,130 Views)

Re: Curved Ramps

09-25-2012 05:40 AM in reply to: madone55

Please be more specific. What curved ramp, exactly? Any samples, sketches?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Contributor
madone55
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎05-15-2008
Message 3 of 12 (3,107 Views)

Re: Curved Ramps

09-25-2012 03:46 PM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

Thanks,

See the sketch attached. It' a vehicle ramp in a carpark. I presume the inside edge of the 1:6 portion will set the slope (ie when a cross section is taken through the ramp the ramp surface is level).

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,813
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 4 of 12 (3,097 Views)

Re: Curved Ramps

09-25-2012 05:20 PM in reply to: madone55

Create 2 types of ramp, one for each slope. Use some reference planes in plans and elevation to determine elevations and distances. Use the level contraints and base offset values to locate the start and end points in the correct places. It is not difficult.

 

ramp_w_slopes.jpg

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Contributor
madone55
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎05-15-2008
Message 5 of 12 (3,089 Views)

Re: Curved Ramps

09-25-2012 05:39 PM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

Thank you, much appreciated.

Member
architangent
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-17-2013
Message 6 of 12 (2,547 Views)

Re: Curved Ramps

04-17-2013 02:46 AM in reply to: madone55

Hi 

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,813
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 7 of 12 (2,522 Views)

Re: Curved Ramps

04-17-2013 08:23 AM in reply to: architangent

Well, the ramp tools has a Run option, which includes an Arc option. Other than that, it's a matter of entering the settings for elevations and slope, etc, and creating the sketch.

 

Can that be a parametric family? Yes. But such family could not serve as host for railings. Only floors, ramps, and stairs can host railings, but we can't make families in those categories.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Member
architangent
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-17-2013
Message 8 of 12 (2,515 Views)

Re: Curved Ramps

04-17-2013 08:33 AM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina
So, assuming that I am done with the sketch, what do I do to save it as a parametric family? Do I save the whole ramp as a group or do I deal with them separately? Thanks alot for your reply!
*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,813
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 9 of 12 (2,505 Views)

Re: Curved Ramps

04-17-2013 08:59 AM in reply to: architangent

No, making a ramp and making a family are two different things that cannot be combined. Ramps are system families, and for those, we don't have templates.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Member
architangent
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-17-2013
Message 10 of 12 (2,480 Views)

Re: Curved Ramps

04-17-2013 08:29 PM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

Hi Alfredo Medina, 

 

Thanks for your reply, I guess I have found the solution to my problem. I wanted to create a custom ramp family so that it can be loaded into other projects. So what I did was I duplicated the system family and sketched the ramp out with the appropriate dimensions and gradient, I selected them and saved them as a group. When I open other project files, I was then able to load them as groups and then when I sketch the ramps, the "custom ramp families" was loaded with the system families. 

 

Thanks again :smileyhappy:

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube