Revit Architecture

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
shawn
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎10-25-2010
Message 1 of 3 (241 Views)

Copied elements or groups and graphic overrides?

241 Views, 2 Replies
02-08-2012 01:21 PM

I've created a small group of concrete reinforcing detail components that have graphic overrides to change solid black to solid grey. When I copy the objects or place new groups made from the objects, the graphic overrides reset to original all black.

 

Is there anyway to get the graphic overrides, which are embedded in the group, to copy into new intances of the group so that I don't have to "undo group" and apply new graphic overrides?

 

Thank you.

SG

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Message 2 of 3 (189 Views)

Re: Copied elements or groups and graphic overrides?

03-15-2012 04:20 AM in reply to: shawn

Not sure if you've sorted this issue out, and I'm no expert, but it appears this can't be done, only model elements and detail elements are saved in the group, but no graphic visual overides that are applied to elements prior to creating them as a group. I've made all model families appear the way you want them to appear, by assigning symbolic lines to the actual family, and adjusting the visibility of each model element before saving the family. Not sure how you would do the same thing for system families, such as walls, etc. I guess there's a reason why Revit doesn't allow this, I don't know what it is though.  If any one alse can shed some light on this it would be great.

 

Distinguished Contributor
shawn
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎10-25-2010
Message 3 of 3 (153 Views)

Re: Copied elements or groups and graphic overrides?

04-09-2012 11:27 AM in reply to: Niqos

Thanks for the reply. It's frustrating sometimes that others, especially Autodesk personel, don't answer these basic questions with greater consistancy. It would certainly make becoming skilled an easier task.

 

And you're right, it appears there is no way to save graphic overrides between instances of copied groups containing detail components. The only answer, which I came to by trial and error, is just to edit the family and save as a new family. Then use the new family detail component in the model groups.

 

Aloha,

SG

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube