Revit Architecture

Reply
Valued Mentor
IMCornish
Posts: 265
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
Message 1 of 7 (231 Views)
Accepted Solution

Converting voids

231 Views, 6 Replies
02-07-2013 05:17 AM

Can a void be converted to a solid?

Andrew Robertson
Chartered Architect
Robertson Partnership
Truro. UK
*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,819
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 2 of 7 (229 Views)

Re: Converting voids

02-07-2013 05:21 AM in reply to: IMCornish

Yes, you can select a void, and convert into a solid, or convert a solid into a void.

 

2-7-2013 8-19-47 AM.jpg

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Valued Mentor
IMCornish
Posts: 265
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
Message 3 of 7 (209 Views)

Re: Converting voids

02-07-2013 08:50 AM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

Alfredo, I was aware of this opportunity with solids to voids but 'my voids' do not seem to offer this choice, see partial screen view with a swept blend void form selected adjacent to Properties window:Void to Solid.png 

The void, although selected appears to have no properties! Any ideas please?

Andrew Robertson
Chartered Architect
Robertson Partnership
Truro. UK
*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,214
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 7 (204 Views)

Re: Converting voids

02-07-2013 09:00 AM in reply to: IMCornish

Is the Void part of a Group? I've found that you do not have this option in this case - you cannot change a Void to a Solid or vice versa in Groups.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Valued Mentor
IMCornish
Posts: 265
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
Message 5 of 7 (195 Views)

Re: Converting voids

02-07-2013 10:31 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

No, it is not in a group.

Andrew Robertson
Chartered Architect
Robertson Partnership
Truro. UK
*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,214
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 6 of 7 (191 Views)

Re: Converting voids

02-07-2013 12:05 PM in reply to: IMCornish

Also, if the Void is cutting any other extrusion, you cannot change it to a Solid. It is possible for a Void to be set to cut an extrusion that it does not even contact, so to remedy this, select the Void and then to Modify tab » Cut ▼ Uncut Geometry. Hover the cursor over the other extrusions, and if any of them become highlighted, then click to disassociate these elements. Once the Void is no longer cutting any elements, you will be able to change it to a Solid.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Valued Mentor
IMCornish
Posts: 265
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
Message 7 of 7 (178 Views)

Re: Converting voids

02-08-2013 03:49 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

Corey

thank you, that is the key. The void needs to be dissassociated with the object it is cutting before it can be converted. Have accepted what you have said as the solution. This advice should be documented in WikiHelp.

Andrew Robertson
Chartered Architect
Robertson Partnership
Truro. UK
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.