Revit Architecture

Reply
Mentor
octavio2
Posts: 224
Registered: ‎05-07-2010
Message 1 of 10 (2,818 Views)

Computer wiht both Revit 2013 and Revit 2014 will work OK?

2818 Views, 9 Replies
04-24-2013 05:00 PM

Will a computer that has both Revit 2013 and Revit 2014 installed at the same time work well?

Will each of the versions work well when run without any glitches? (Assuming that only one of the versions will be open to work with at any one time).

Thanks in advance.

*Expert Elite*
edwin.prakoso
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎04-03-2012
Message 2 of 10 (2,789 Views)

Re: Computer wiht both Revit 2013 and Revit 2014 will work OK?

04-24-2013 09:00 PM in reply to: octavio2

I have them both on my computer. And they both work fine.

Just remember to install update release 1 and 2 for Revit 2013. Revit 2014 will install .NET Framework 4.5 as prereq and it will cause some problem to Revit 2013.

The updates will fix it.

 

If you need the links:

Ribbon hotfix for Revit 2012
Revit 2013 Update Release 1
Revit 2013 Update Release 2
Revit Architecture 2013 Update Release 1
Revit Architecture 2013 Update Release 2
Revit MEP 2013 Update Release 1
Revit MEP 2013 Update Release 2
Revit Structure 2013 Update Release 1
Revit Structure 2013 Update Release 2

Kind regards,
Edwin Prakoso | www.cad-notes.com | @CADnotes

If this post solve your issue, please mark this post as solution. It will help others who have the same issue to find solution.
Active Contributor
M-Town_Drafter
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎07-21-2008
Message 3 of 10 (2,784 Views)

Re: Computer wiht both Revit 2013 and Revit 2014 will work OK?

04-24-2013 09:07 PM in reply to: octavio2

I have Revit LT 2013 and 2014 both installed.  I had them both up and running at the same time, just to compare performance, check for differences in the UI, etc.  I don't think that the full versions of Revit would tax hardware much more than the full versions.

 

As a side note, I tried uninstalling Revit 2011 last year, as I thought 2 versions (2012 and 2013) would be sufficient.  Created quite a mess.  Just in case you were thinking about getting rid of 2013...

Active Contributor
tarheels09
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎02-22-2013
Message 4 of 10 (1,619 Views)

Re: Computer wiht both Revit 2013 and Revit 2014 will work OK?

09-12-2013 08:15 AM in reply to: edwin.prakoso

Not that I don't believe you about the updates. But can we get an answer from Autodesk on this?????

We have 2012 and 2013 and are ready to install 2014.

Active Contributor
M-Town_Drafter
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎07-21-2008
Message 5 of 10 (1,603 Views)

Re: Computer wiht both Revit 2013 and Revit 2014 will work OK?

09-12-2013 10:40 AM in reply to: tarheels09

Well, I'm actually still seeing the occasional ribbon issue, the one where the correct contextual won't show up.  Not often, and exiting Revit fixes it.  And yes, my software is all up-to-date.  This is for LT at home.  At work I use the full version, but I only have 2012 and 2013 installed.  Most of our collaboration is in 2013, and I won't make families in 2014 since I can't use them in earlier versions.

 

Other than that, I really haven't seen any issues about them not playing nicely together.  I agree, though, that Autodesk should make sure about it for the full versions.  Since they require you to use different versions at times, they should insure that installing one doesn't harm the other(s).  And a shout out from them would be nice, too.

 

And rereading my previous post, it should be  'I don't think that the full versions of Revit would tax hardware much more than the LT versions.' Other than rendering, anyway. 

 

 

Employee
loboarch
Posts: 978
Registered: ‎09-05-2003
Message 6 of 10 (1,569 Views)

Re: Computer wiht both Revit 2013 and Revit 2014 will work OK?

09-13-2013 06:52 AM in reply to: tarheels09

tarheels09 wrote:

Not that I don't believe you about the updates. But can we get an answer from Autodesk on this?????

We have 2012 and 2013 and are ready to install 2014.


2012, 2013, 2014 can be installed side by side.  2012 and 2013 need to have the most recent updates applied, otherwise the Ribbon will not display contextural tabs without cycling through the Ribbin display modes.  once updated all 3 will run sisde by side without issue.



Jeff Hanson
Sr. Subject Matter Expert
Autodesk, Revit User Experience
Mentor
octavio2
Posts: 224
Registered: ‎05-07-2010
Message 7 of 10 (1,545 Views)

Re: Computer wiht both Revit 2013 and Revit 2014 will work OK?

09-13-2013 04:13 PM in reply to: octavio2

Jeff, maybe you can top your anwer with the built  number of the latest update for each of the releases, so these could be conveniently checked quickly by reading your post.

Contributor
Michael.Rybin
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-23-2012
Message 8 of 10 (347 Views)

Re: Computer wiht both Revit 2013 and Revit 2014 will work OK?

04-22-2014 11:25 AM in reply to: edwin.prakoso
Revit 2014 Update 1 Fails to install because the 'the expected product could not be located', however, Revit 2014 runs fine.
Contributor
Michael.Rybin
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-23-2012
Message 9 of 10 (337 Views)

Re: Computer wiht both Revit 2013 and Revit 2014 will work OK?

04-22-2014 11:50 AM in reply to: Michael.Rybin
My root problem is I cannot sign in or render in could - yet I could about a month ago - so I thought installing revit 2014 would work. revit 2014 installs and runs, but i cannot sign in to the cloud and render + revit 214 update 1 fails. Do you have a list of checks or settings for me to review? Also, I turned off virus software and firewall.
*Expert Elite*
David_W._Koch
Posts: 2,423
Registered: ‎12-09-2003
Message 10 of 10 (299 Views)

Re: Computer wiht both Revit 2013 and Revit 2014 will work OK?

04-23-2014 04:07 PM in reply to: Michael.Rybin

Make sure you are installing the correct update.  The update for the Revit "one box" that is part of the Building Design Suites is different for the updates for the individual discipline Revits (Architecture, MEP, Structure).

 

Revit 2014 (one box) Update Release 2

Revit Architecture 2014 Update Release 2

Revit MEP 2014 Update Release 2

Revit Structure 2014 Update Release 2

David Koch

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube