Revit Architecture

Reply
Active Member
migdalia_banda
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-12-2012
Message 1 of 5 (1,677 Views)

Changing the wall thickness

1677 Views, 4 Replies
04-12-2012 04:27 PM

I have a finished floor plan with 5.5" thick walls, but now i want to make all my walls thicker without changing the size of my rooms. Does anyone know what i can do to achieve this. I tried locking the wall dimensions before changing their thickness but it still shrunk my room sizes. Maybe i did it wrong, idk, can someone help?

 

 

 

Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 2 of 5 (1,674 Views)

Re: Changing the wall thickness

04-12-2012 04:36 PM in reply to: migdalia_banda

Set the wall's location line to Finish 

Face Interior.

Active Member
migdalia_banda
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-12-2012
Message 3 of 5 (1,671 Views)

Re: Changing the wall thickness

04-12-2012 04:39 PM in reply to: vector2

OMG thank you very much!!! :smileyhappy: You don't know how long I've been struggling with that!

Distinguished Contributor
cvandevere
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎09-02-2006
Message 4 of 5 (1,669 Views)

Re: Changing the wall thickness

04-12-2012 04:42 PM in reply to: migdalia_banda

Yes it is fairly simple to do what you want. Before you change the wall type/thickness Click on the wall to highlight it, first notice which side of the wall the up and down arrows are that indicates the exterior  side of the wall, then in the properties panel, click on the location line and highlight, Finish Face : Interior this locks the interior side of the wall so when it moves it will move out from that point. try it out on a few walls to see the results. exterior walls the wall will move out outside of the exterior. Pay close attention when working with interior walls again the double arrow will indicate what is considered the exterior side of the wall so you will need to highlight the location line for the side that you do not want to move. Hope this helps!

CDV
Mentor
parveen.revit
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 5 of 5 (1,645 Views)

Re: Changing the wall thickness

04-12-2012 10:49 PM in reply to: migdalia_banda

Dear Migdalia,

 

its good to know that you have got answer to your query and i hope you'd completed your floorplan with changes wall thickness.

 

Just to add my opinion on this issue, You have to take take care of location line for each individual wall.

Drawing a wall from left to right and right to left have different meanings in Revit (clockwise/anti-clockwise).

 

Please make sure you did it right way as suggested by experts in previous answers.

Parveen_Intec_Infocom (BIM, CAD, GIS, QS Services' Provider)

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube