Revit Architecture

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
marc5
Posts: 131
Registered: ‎09-30-2010
Message 1 of 10 (272 Views)
Accepted Solution

Changing Joist Spacing

272 Views, 9 Replies
03-05-2014 07:00 AM

I placed I-Joist on the floor plan and used the wrong spacing. Can I select the already placed joist and change the spacing from 12 inch OC to 16 inches OC? I know I can select the ones I want to change, but I do not see in the properties window where I can change the spacing. Unless I am overlooking it.

 

Thanks,

Marc

Mentor
cbcarch
Posts: 168
Registered: ‎10-29-2008
Message 2 of 10 (245 Views)

Re: Changing Joist Spacing

03-05-2014 09:30 AM in reply to: marc5
Try using a Beam System--you can specify size/type of joists, and spacing. You specify the extents of the beam system ( as between column grids, etc.) and it automatically fills in the framing. You can then edit the beam system and make changes globally.
Cliff B. Collins
Registered Architect/BIM Specialist
Autodesk Revit Expert Elite
Distinguished Contributor
marc5
Posts: 131
Registered: ‎09-30-2010
Message 3 of 10 (240 Views)

Re: Changing Joist Spacing

03-05-2014 09:38 AM in reply to: marc5

I used the Beam System and I specified spacing but I need to change the spacing. I will look again and see if I can find where to do this.

 

Thanks.

Distinguished Contributor
marc5
Posts: 131
Registered: ‎09-30-2010
Message 4 of 10 (237 Views)

Re: Changing Joist Spacing

03-05-2014 09:41 AM in reply to: marc5
Or I guess I should ask, how do I select the beam system I need to change the spacing on?
Mentor
cbcarch
Posts: 168
Registered: ‎10-29-2008
Message 5 of 10 (223 Views)

Re: Changing Joist Spacing

03-05-2014 10:21 AM in reply to: marc5

Use Tab key to select the beam system. The Edit Properties, and change spacing. ( as I recall ).

 

check here: http://help.autodesk.com/view/RVT/2014/ENU/?guid=GUID-6A876CEE-ACB3-4F1F-A803-EBF2E3AE8C57

Cliff B. Collins
Registered Architect/BIM Specialist
Autodesk Revit Expert Elite
Distinguished Contributor
marc5
Posts: 131
Registered: ‎09-30-2010
Message 6 of 10 (193 Views)

Re: Changing Joist Spacing

03-06-2014 07:03 AM in reply to: marc5

Still no luck on changing an existing joist spacing. I cannot figure out how to select the joists that were created under the Beam System. Any other ideas?

 

Thanks,

Marc

Mentor
cbcarch
Posts: 168
Registered: ‎10-29-2008
Message 7 of 10 (187 Views)

Re: Changing Joist Spacing

03-06-2014 07:14 AM in reply to: marc5

You don't select the individual beams, you change the properties of spacing in the Beam System.

 

Did you look at the link / help?

Cliff B. Collins
Registered Architect/BIM Specialist
Autodesk Revit Expert Elite
Distinguished Contributor
alisder.brown
Posts: 120
Registered: ‎05-13-2013
Message 8 of 10 (175 Views)

Re: Changing Joist Spacing

03-06-2014 08:25 AM in reply to: marc5

If you used the "Beam system" tool, then simply hover the mouse over the edge of the beam system you placed, you must make sure you are not selecting an individual beam, use the "TAB" key to cycle through available selections and select the whole system (you will notice the whole system gets highlighted to let you know that is the system) then you can change the properties to whatever you want.

 

See attached image

 

Hope this helped

Alisder Brown
BIM consultant & application specialist
Autodesk Trainer
Distinguished Contributor
marc5
Posts: 131
Registered: ‎09-30-2010
Message 9 of 10 (170 Views)

Re: Changing Joist Spacing

03-06-2014 08:38 AM in reply to: alisder.brown
THANKS.....Got it. I had to change the view range. Also, I could select the Beam System in the 3D view prior to change the view range.
Distinguished Contributor
marc5
Posts: 131
Registered: ‎09-30-2010
Message 10 of 10 (160 Views)

Re: Changing Joist Spacing

03-06-2014 09:01 AM in reply to: marc5

Thanks again for the help, but I just noticed I lost 6 I-Joist out of 23. The 6 that are missing are at one end. They are missing in the floor plan view and in sections. Did I do something wrong when selecting the Beam System? They were all there prior to the changing of the spacing.

 

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.