Revit Architecture

Reply
Contributor
mechitar
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎12-27-2010
Message 1 of 4 (218 Views)
Accepted Solution

Can't move reference plans while editing a family

218 Views, 3 Replies
07-11-2013 10:22 AM

I'm creating a window family by modifying a pre-existing one.  One of the things I need to do is to move the reference planes defining the "left" and "right" edges of the window opening, so as to make to opening wider, but I'm not allowed to do it.  The reference planes always move together, so that I'm stuck with a 3'-0" wide opening no matter what I do.  I can't find any constraints linking the reference planes to each other or to a 3'-0" dimension - I can't find any constraints on them at all, in fact.  What am I missing here?

 

The file in question is attached.  As I mentioned, the reference planes I'm concerned about are called "left" and "right".  I have been able to move other reference planes in the file.

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,813
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 2 of 4 (202 Views)

Re: Can't move reference plans while editing a family

07-11-2013 11:50 AM in reply to: mechitar

Look at the floor plan view:

 

7-11-2013 2-48-40 PM.jpg

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
*Expert Elite*
constantin.stroescu
Posts: 943
Registered: ‎10-29-2008
Message 3 of 4 (201 Views)

Re: Can't move reference plans while editing a family

07-11-2013 11:50 AM in reply to: mechitar

In Family Types > Dimensions > Width > Lock - uncheck it.

If you want the strech to be left -right of the Center ,then Modify >Pin it...

Constantin Stroescu
BIM Manager AGD
*Expert Elite*
constantin.stroescu
Posts: 943
Registered: ‎10-29-2008
Message 4 of 4 (199 Views)

Re: Can't move reference plans while editing a family

07-11-2013 11:57 AM in reply to: mechitar

It is recomanded  to make flexing from Family Type , as Alfredo says, instead of stretching it manualy as you try to do.....If you insist you can do it as suggested in my previous post, although is not usual and not advisable..

Constantin Stroescu
BIM Manager AGD

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube