Revit Architecture

Reply
*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 1,326
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 1 of 3 (126 Views)

Adding Posts to Handrail System

126 Views, 2 Replies
06-12-2013 10:07 AM

I created a new family to use as posts in my handrail system.  This is for a deck railing.  I'm working on creating a model of the building as it currently stands so I'm able to include a picture of what it actually looks like in real life. 

 

I've also included a screenshot showing the properties window for the handrail (showing what balusters are available) next to the project browswer (showing what families I've got loaded in the file).

 

In the project browser, I've marked with a red arrow the family that I want to use in my handrail.  The ones marked in green are actually listed in the handrail properties window.  So how can I make the Dek Rail Post available to my handrail?

 

I've also included the post family as an attachment.

 

TIA!

 

HandRailPic.jpg

 

RevitHandRailPosts.png

 

 

 

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.
*Expert Elite*
David_W._Koch
Posts: 2,400
Registered: ‎12-09-2003
Message 2 of 3 (96 Views)

Re: Adding Posts to Handrail System

06-13-2013 02:53 PM in reply to: doni49

Was that family started with the Baluster-Post.rft template file?

David Koch
*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 1,326
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 3 of 3 (63 Views)

Re: Adding Posts to Handrail System

06-17-2013 12:30 PM in reply to: David_W._Koch

David_W._Koch wrote:

Was that family started with the Baluster-Post.rft template file?


No it wasn't.

 

A co-worker had already created a balluster using the Baluster-Post template and it was causing problems of a different nature.  I was hoping that I could create it from a Generic Model template and then change the family type (I did that with a different family to get around a problem I was having and it worked).

 

But since it was showing up amongst the other other ballusters, I thought I had done what I needed to make the family show up in the available ballusters.

 

In addition to asking about it here, I asked our reseller before I left work last week.  He responded by telling us what was wrong with the co-worker's template, fixed it and sent it back to me.

 

So I don't need to use this one any more.

 

Thanks for your time and effort to assist!

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube