Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A Revit Architect re-using Revit Structural objects: is this really possible

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
helsinki_dave
1756 Views, 5 Replies

A Revit Architect re-using Revit Structural objects: is this really possible

Hi, 

How do Revit architects re-use the structural engineers Revit model?

More specifically, do you re-use the .rvt objects that the engineer creates (linking etc), then use face-based architectural families to apply surfaces to structural floors, wall and columns - or not?
I'm an ACAD veteran, so the thought of re-modelling what the engineer has already modeled is not so appealing!

I suspect the problem is in the layers in compound objects. Simply put, the engineers wall is 'inside' my wall, but Revit doesn't really recognize this parametrically through the linking process (unless I use face-based families right?)

Thanks in advance!
Dave

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
LisaDrago
in reply to: helsinki_dave

Hi Dave - I may be understanding you correctly but - Typically when working with other disciplines, I would link in their model into mine.

I would copy/monitor the important things like levels and grids and other things I needed to watch - things that if they changed I needed to know because it would affect my model. (a little about copy/monitor - copy will do just that - copy it from the other model into mine, it will also monitor the elements so that if the element changes in the other model - I will be notified, the monitor tool will just monitor the element in reference to an element in my model.)