Revit Architecture

Reply
Valued Contributor
davidwilliamedwards
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎02-10-2010
Message 1 of 11 (2,425 Views)

3D DWG (lines only) into Revit for use as path.

2425 Views, 10 Replies
11-09-2010 01:03 PM

Is it possible to import a 3D DWG (lines) to be used as a path for a sweep? I'm assuming (because I've found that it appears not to possible) that model lines must be assigned to a workplane and that "floating" 3D lines from a DWG aren't assigned workplanes and therefore can't be converted into Revit Model Lines.

 

David William Edwards

David William Edwards
Senior Architectural Designer / BIM Manager
Sherlock, Smith & Adams, Inc.
Employee
ryan.duell
Posts: 734
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 2 of 11 (2,395 Views)

Re: 3D DWG (lines only) into Revit for use as path.

11-11-2010 06:17 AM in reply to: davidwilliamedwards

 

It is possible to utilize 3D forms or lines from a CAD file.  You should be able to use the “Pick Lines” tool and TAB select the CAD import as needed.  Make sure “Draw on Face” is active.  Also you can simply add lines with “3D Snapping” active to trace over any 3D points; no work plane required:
Thank you,

 

It is possible to utilize 3D forms or lines from a CAD file.  You should be able to use the “Pick Lines” tool and TAB select the CAD import as needed.  Make sure “Draw on Face” is active.  Also you can simply add lines with “3D Snapping” active to trace over any 3D points; no work plane required:


Video Example: http://screencast.com/t/nqEsIFxN14cI


Thank you,



Ryan Duell
Autodesk, Inc.

Revit Clinic
@revitclinic


Valued Contributor
davidwilliamedwards
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎02-10-2010
Message 3 of 11 (2,385 Views)

Re: 3D DWG (lines only) into Revit for use as path.

11-11-2010 09:18 AM in reply to: ryan.duell

Is this only in the Conceptual Mass Families or v2011? (I'm on 2010.) None of the suggestions seem to work. Tabing on a CAD import just beeps. Drawing lines only creates lines on the active workplace. 3D Snapping doesn't work on lines, only points.

 

A lines-only DWG should be able to be brought into Revit, exploded and those lines used for whatever. Currently an explode collapses the lines to the current workplane. This is pretty basic.

 

David William Edwards

David William Edwards
Senior Architectural Designer / BIM Manager
Sherlock, Smith & Adams, Inc.
Employee
ryan.duell
Posts: 734
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 4 of 11 (2,381 Views)

Re: 3D DWG (lines only) into Revit for use as path.

11-11-2010 09:31 AM in reply to: davidwilliamedwards

It should work in 2010 as well.  

 

A good approach is to utilize 3D snapping, which shoukld allow you to draw lines in Revit along any path you can snap to.  I did a quick example of this in the Revit 2010 video below:

 

Video Example: http://screencast.com/t/r3jgseALr

 

Thank you,



Ryan Duell
Autodesk, Inc.

Revit Clinic
@revitclinic


Valued Contributor
davidwilliamedwards
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎02-10-2010
Message 5 of 11 (2,375 Views)

Re: 3D DWG (lines only) into Revit for use as path.

11-11-2010 11:22 AM in reply to: ryan.duell

My 27 years of CAD experience is failing me. 3D Snapping only is an option in an Conceptual Mass Family. Once selected only Reference points can be placed. If Pick Lines are used, the Lines are created on the current workplane. 

 

I give up... this should be a very simple procedure...

 

David William Edwards

David William Edwards
Senior Architectural Designer / BIM Manager
Sherlock, Smith & Adams, Inc.
New Member
1119240212
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-11-2013
Message 6 of 11 (1,342 Views)

Re: 3D DWG (lines only) into Revit for use as path.

02-18-2013 01:24 AM in reply to: davidwilliamedwards

a few years later.....is this possible yet as i need to model a tunnel, i can do this in other programs, like microstation really easily but i'm lost with revit... (i only have several months experience but cant get my head around this?)

Valued Contributor
samu3
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎06-13-2008
Message 7 of 11 (1,297 Views)

Re: 3D DWG (lines only) into Revit for use as path.

02-22-2013 01:50 AM in reply to: davidwilliamedwards

I too would be interested in further discussion on this topic!

 

Thanks,

Samu

Active Member
frme
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-13-2013
Message 8 of 11 (989 Views)

Re: 3D DWG (lines only) into Revit for use as path.

07-04-2013 12:14 AM in reply to: davidwilliamedwards

I would also like to know if/how this can be done!

 

Too bad the video examples are gone...

 

aw
Member
aw
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Message 9 of 11 (817 Views)

Re: 3D DWG (lines only) into Revit for use as path.

08-22-2013 05:39 AM in reply to: davidwilliamedwards

Hello,

 

I've imported a 3D DWG line into a generic adaptive family.  (on this 3dline where already placed several points annotated with there coordinates).

I've used the spline through points line in plan view and changed the z-coordinate for each point (offset in properties)

Now you can import the adaptive family in you project.

 

Andy Windey

Senior BIM designer

BESIX - BELGIUM

Valued Contributor
samu3
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎06-13-2008
Message 10 of 11 (788 Views)

Re: 3D DWG (lines only) into Revit for use as path.

08-24-2013 03:50 AM in reply to: aw

Hello all,

 

Thank you for the reply, Andy. It's just very time-consuming to manually change the z-coordinate when you are working with hundreds or thousands of points...

 

You would think that there's a way to automate the process. Anyone?

 

Samu

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube