Revit API Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit API Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit API topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pipe / Duck spliting using the Revit API

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
sppeeddyy
2690 Views, 4 Replies

Pipe / Duck spliting using the Revit API

Hi

I have a C# code that allows users to select a pipe or a duct and can retrieve the lenght property from it. Since I am new to Revit API, I was wondering is there a way to spilt a pipe/duct into specified length. For example, if I have a 50" pipe, I need to split it into 5 pipes of 10" each.

I would greatly appreciate any input. Thanks in advance.

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
ollikat
in reply to: sppeeddyy

As far as I know, there's no single method for doing the split in API. If you are going to do your own split method, you have to consider following steps

1. disconnect pipe/duct (curve) from the other end if connected

2. disconnect possible tap connections (and store them some how)

3. shorten the curve

4. Create new curve and place it correctly plus connect the other end if needed

5. set similar parameter values that was in original curve

6. reconnect the taps to correct curve

Optionally you can delete the old curve totally and create two new.

So as you can see, it's not the worlds simplest task to do and that's why I think it doesn't make sense to start copy-paste code here. So just go ahead and start coding 🙂 If you face some issues, let see if someone can help you with those.

Message 3 of 5
sppeeddyy
in reply to: ollikat