Revit API Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit API Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit API topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A prgram to calculate net values of the Room Finish

2 REPLIES 2
Message 1 of 3
maximas2000
580 Views, 2 Replies

A prgram to calculate net values of the Room Finish

Hi guys,

I'm new to Revit programming, and I hope you can help me ...

I want to develop a plugin can let the user select (on screen) a room then select its doors, windows, and opennings

then from those element parameters i can give the program some formulas to calculate :

Wall Finish (Area net) = [ Room peremeter x Clear height ] - [ total doors and windows and opennings areas ]

Base Finish (Lenght net) = [ Room permeter ] - [total of doors, and opennings width ]

I'm lost cos of many functions and methods of the API, my question is :

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1 - how to select on screen just those types only ?? (the room and opennings) not any othe elements like furniture or grids

2 - how to retrieve ID, area of the room selected, and the other parameters like permeter, awall finish, floor finish, cieling finish, wall finish, name ....., and the same things for doors m, windows, and opennings

3- how to highlight the room on screen when i click its row from a report grid ? and also highlight the doors and windows belongs to it ??

4 - is there a function or a trick in revit schedule to do the same job and exclude the doors and windows areas from the wall finsh of the room ?? without developping a new pugin and wasting the time ??

thanks guys

2 REPLIES 2
Message 2 of 3
Anonymous
in reply to: maximas2000

The first thing you should do is check to see if someone has already created an app that does this.