ReCap Pro General

Reply
New Member
GSCCAD2011
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-30-2013
Message 1 of 5 (479 Views)
Accepted Solution

ReCap RCP running slow

479 Views, 4 Replies
12-09-2013 11:41 AM

My project just started regening really really slow.  You can see the scan regen in small tiles.  As I try to move/pan around it starts the slow regen process again.  It is pegging my CPU to 100% causing the RCP to work slow.  I have been deleting/cleaning noise in ReCap Pro fairly smoothly until now. I believe I have isolated it to the RCP file.  I can open a prior RCP in the same project and everything runs like normal.  Any thoughts?

 

 

Paxton Singleton
Board Manager
vidanom
Posts: 215
Registered: ‎05-22-2013
Message 2 of 5 (473 Views)

Re: ReCap RCP running slow

12-09-2013 11:55 AM in reply to: GSCCAD2011

This is typical for datasets that had a lot of cleaning actions associated with the RCP file.

When loading just an RCS files, or unedited RCP files it’s very fast, but as soon as you load RCP file with a lot of editing actions applied, that can results in slow start when loading and slow streaming.

 

The editing actions are actually volumes that need to be checked by the graphic card. Sometimes these RCP files has literally thousands of volume checks and all the points go through these checks.

 

For this type of case the best practice is to export your pointcloud as Unified .RCS and your scan data will work back as new.

 

Mitko

New Member
GSCCAD2011
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-30-2013
Message 3 of 5 (462 Views)

Re: ReCap RCP running slow

12-09-2013 06:27 PM in reply to: vidanom

Thanks!  That worked...

 

Your suggestion solved the speed problem.  However, created a couple of other questions.  I was still in the process of cleaning up the points.  Now that I am working with one RCS (and now scan location) how would I delete the annoying white points.  Whether they are noise or just a coloration problem I am trying to clean up the scan for a presentation.  The white points make the colored scan/points not as vivid.  I was going into the Scan Location in the Project Navigator turning off Scan Locations and working with only one or two locations at a time.  That allowed me to isolate the white points.  They are all included now without the ability (or my know how) on how to isolate the points to delete them.

 

Thank you again for replying so quickly and solving the problem.

 

Paxton

Paxton Singleton
Board Manager
vidanom
Posts: 215
Registered: ‎05-22-2013
Message 4 of 5 (445 Views)

Re: ReCap RCP running slow

12-10-2013 10:06 PM in reply to: GSCCAD2011

Hi Paxton,

 

The easiest would be to orient and face those noise points in front of some plane surface, select the surface with Plane selection, make it a Region and lock that region.

That way you’ll be able to easily select everything on top of that surface without deleting it.

 

If the points are blended into this surfaces, then see if you can go in you previous state and complete all your edits before you export as unified .rcs.

 

Mitko

New Member
akira77
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-12-2014
Message 5 of 5 (235 Views)

Re: ReCap RCP running slow

03-10-2014 01:40 PM in reply to: vidanom

Hi all,

 

For me big problem with CPU always 100% load ...

 

Also possible not enough CPU?

Maybe that helps good with Intel Xeon E7?

 

Greetings Akira

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community