ReCap Pro General

Reply
Mentor
Posts: 226
Registered: ‎04-14-2005
Message 1 of 13 (629 Views)

ReCap Pro Installation

629 Views, 12 Replies
08-08-2013 09:15 AM

While installing ReCap pro trial it encountered an error immediately with install the 2008 C++ Redistributable. It turns out the error was that it was not included with the extracted files.

 

Copied the file from a different installation and added it in a the correct path. Installed with no errors.

Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-05-2013
Message 2 of 13 (511 Views)

Re: ReCap Pro Installation

09-10-2013 05:58 AM in reply to: rjay75

Thanks, this worked for me too! Finally got it to install properly:smileyhappy:

New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-13-2013
Message 3 of 13 (465 Views)

Re: ReCap Pro Installation

09-24-2013 08:18 AM in reply to: rjay75

Having the same problem, could you elaborate on the solution?  Is it just downloading the C++ 2008 Redistributable from Microsoft?

Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-05-2013
Message 4 of 13 (454 Views)

Re: ReCap Pro Installation

09-25-2013 02:22 AM in reply to: rjay75

In the error message the installer specifies which VC redistributable it wants to install and where it is looking for it. When I checked that path it turned out both the folder and VC redist. was missing, so i created the requested folder and downloaded the correct VC redist. (in my case I think it was the 2010 service release 1 x86) from microsoft to the folder I had created. Ran the installer again (directly from the c:\\Autodesk folder where the files had been unpacked) and everything went smoothly. Hope this helps.

Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-20-2013
Message 5 of 13 (349 Views)

Re: ReCap Pro Installation

10-16-2013 09:40 AM in reply to: tronmikk

I can't believe this hasn't been fixed..  I spent a large amount of time trying to get Recap Pro to install.  I would think a new download file would be released with the correct files for install. 

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎12-03-2002
Message 6 of 13 (339 Views)

Re: ReCap Pro Installation

10-17-2013 06:52 AM in reply to: smetzger

I've been jerking around with this for a week.  I'll attempt to unravel the explanation and make it work.  It's insane that we have to go through this.  Not very VIP or customer oriented. A bulletin and detailed guideline from AutoDesk would be nice.

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎12-03-2002
Message 7 of 13 (331 Views)

Re: ReCap Pro Installation

10-17-2013 07:30 AM in reply to: tronmikk

On the initial failed install, the log listed "C:\Autodesk\yada\yada\yada\2008SP1\vcredist_X86.exe" as failing.  I created this directory, put in the file, ran the install and got 30 seconds on ReCap install spash screens.  While I was yoohooing, it failed again.  This time it askes for  "C:\Autodesk\yada\yada\yada\2010SP1\vcredist_X86.exe". 

 

As you can see in thre attached, I have in in there.  Still won't install.

 

What is going on here?

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎12-03-2002
Message 8 of 13 (322 Views)

Re: ReCap Pro Installation

10-17-2013 07:54 AM in reply to: buckdog

I got it working on a different computer.  Slower.  Better than nothing.

New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-13-2013
Message 9 of 13 (307 Views)

Re: ReCap Pro Installation

10-17-2013 01:04 PM in reply to: rjay75

If you go to the microsoft website or google search these two programs:

 

Microsoft C++ Redistributable 2008 (x86) SP1

Microsoft C++ Redistributable 2010 (x86) SP1

 

Then download and install them, the program will finally install.  I have no idea why Autodesk hasn't included these files in the installer.  Pretty big oversight.

Mentor
Posts: 226
Registered: ‎04-14-2005
Message 10 of 13 (298 Views)

Re: ReCap Pro Installation

10-17-2013 01:31 PM in reply to: buckdog

The error message 1603 with it is a generic error that could be a lot of things.

 

As JeffT said. Try redownloading it from MS site and installing it manually on the machine it's failing on.

 

I would still copy it to the missing folder as well.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community