Quantity Takeoff

Reply
Active Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-21-2008
Message 1 of 18 (2,625 Views)

QTO to Timberline Integration

2625 Views, 17 Replies
02-02-2012 06:28 AM

I'm continuously getting an error (Autodesk.Takeoff has stopped working) when starting with or importing our Timberline Means Database. Only the sample databases that come with the program will work. Has anyone come across this?

Alumni
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 18 (2,613 Views)

Re: QTO to Timberline Integration

02-06-2012 07:38 AM in reply to: d_galloway

Hi d_galloway


The Timberline plugin is built and supported by Sage. I recommend checking with Sage to see if you are on the latest version of their plugin.


Best regards,



John Lipp
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-21-2008
Message 3 of 18 (2,597 Views)

Re: QTO to Timberline Integration

02-08-2012 08:27 AM in reply to: john.lipp

We've contacted Sage, they don't produce or support the plug-in. Does anyone know who does produce it or support it?

Alumni
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 18 (2,594 Views)

Re: QTO to Timberline Integration

02-08-2012 10:10 AM in reply to: d_galloway

Hi d_galloway


What version (2011, 2012) of QTO do you have installed and do you have the latest hotfixes installed?

You can find the hotfixes here:

 - http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/index?siteID=123112&id=2334435&linkID=10381885 

If you are on QTO 2012, I recommend installing hotfix 1 and then hotfix 2 (which requires hotfix1 to be installed)

Also, which version of Sage Timeberline is installed. Please post a screenshot of the window that opens after selecting Help > About in the application.

What version of the DLL of the timberline plugin is installed?  Assuming you are running QTO 2012, open
C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk\Quantity Takeoff 2012\Plugins and you should find a dll with "Timberline" included in the filename.  Please right click the file and select Properties.  In the properties window, select the details tab and please send a screenshot of the window.


Best regards,



John Lipp
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-21-2008
Message 5 of 18 (2,592 Views)

Re: QTO to Timberline Integration

02-08-2012 10:34 AM in reply to: john.lipp

Hi John,

Thanks for the follow up.

We're running QTO 2012 and have both hotfixes 1 & 2 installed along with Timberline 9.7.Timberline & Plug-in Versions.png

Alumni
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 6 of 18 (2,580 Views)

Re: QTO to Timberline Integration

02-09-2012 11:31 AM in reply to: d_galloway

Hi d_galloway

How many records are in the catalog that you are trying to import.  If you simply it or create a new catalog with a couple records from scratch, does that catalog import correctly?

I’m unsure if Timberline is able to import these catalogs that they export back in, but if so, does this result in any errors in Timberline?

Would you be able to post the file or a non-sensitive one that has the same issue?


Best regards,



John Lipp
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-21-2008
Message 7 of 18 (2,547 Views)

Re: QTO to Timberline Integration

03-06-2012 07:38 AM in reply to: john.lipp

John,

 

I've talked with our management & we can't post the database in a public forum but would like to continue working through this with you. Is it possible to commuicate live through joinme or webex which gives you the ability to view my screen and have discussion. I'd continue to post our results for use within the forum.

 

Our Timberline database is a large compilation of various files & folders totalling 189 mb in size. We haven't had any issues in Timberline with the database. Simply can't pull it into QTO.

 

Thanks

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-13-2012
Message 8 of 18 (2,395 Views)

Re: QTO to Timberline Integration

06-13-2012 02:36 PM in reply to: john.lipp

I downloaded the free trial of QTO 2013 yesterday to see if it could provide a more efficient workflow for my estimating department than our current workflow.

 

I have surfed around the web to little avail on how to link a Timberline Database with Autodesk QTO.  I’m running Sage Timberline Office Estimating - Extended Edition 9.7 (9.7.0 Rev 1 CD) and Autodesk QTO 2013. 

 

The initial problem is when going to File>Import>Catalog – QTO does not seem to accept any Sage database files (at least not in their native format).  I read that there was a plug-in (but the only one that I found was for 2012 compatible plugin that gives me an error message "No applicable products were found on this machine.  You must have Autodesk QTO installed before you can apply this update.  Please install Autodesk QTO and then run this update again.  This update will not be applied".

 

A brief summary on how to get up and running with QTO & Sage Timberline would be much appreciated!

New Member
mpetrucci
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-05-2011
Message 9 of 18 (2,081 Views)

Re: QTO to Timberline Integration

09-27-2012 11:38 AM in reply to: d_galloway

These files will work correctly with QTO 2013.  Place in this folder: C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk\Quantity Takeoff 2013\Plugins

Start QTO 2013 can you can import Timberline PEI.DAT file

Valued Contributor sta
Valued Contributor
sta
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎08-28-2012
Message 10 of 18 (2,010 Views)

Re: QTO to Timberline Integration

10-09-2012 08:15 AM in reply to: david.heath

I agree some direction with how to do this would be helpful! I have yet to even find a download for the plugins. I tried to put those plugin files provided above into the plugin folder, the program did not recognize them being there after restarting. Please adivse on how to get this feature operational.

 

Thanks

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community