Project Falcon

Message 1 of 10 (576 Views)

First impressions of Project Falcon

576 Views, 9 Replies
01-29-2013 12:27 PM

I've been playing with the Falcon standalone program a few times since I downloaded it in November.

Overall I really like it. It's simple, gives me the basic analysis that I'm looking for, and it's relatively easy to use (although my biggest complaint, er suggestion, is with the UI.)

While using Falcon, I import a model and look at it from different sides, viewing different slices of airflow. The most frustrating aspect is that when I orbit the model with my mouse the whole model & environment gets tilted and its very difficult to get it level again. It seems like the UI is designed specifically for a touchscreen/iPad. Since I can't do multi-touch gestures, orbiting and rotating the model back to level are very difficult to do.

My background is Mechanical Engineering; with a little manufacturing, machine design experience, but mostly working with buildings/facilities and CAD/BIM management.

So far, I have never NEEDED to do wind tunnel analysis on my job. If I had access to something like Falcon in the past I probably would have used it, but I haven't absolutely needed it at my jobs.

However, on a personal project I will definitely use it. I'm planning to someday convert a car to be fully electric. When looking for a donor vehicle I want to determine the aerodynamic drag of various cars to find the one(s) with lowest drag. This is where I see myself using Falcon the most.

The hardest part will probably be obtaining accurate 3D models of specific vehicles that I can import into Falcon.

So, my first suggestion is to at least add a view cube or some other way to orient the view to specific preset 3D views.