Printing and Plotting

Reply
New Member
Harrauch
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-12-2014
Message 1 of 6 (163 Views)
Accepted Solution

Title Block Won't Print

163 Views, 5 Replies
06-12-2014 10:03 AM

Hello,  I'm trying to make a template for this company to use when printing drawings, but the title block I made won't show up in print preview, and it won't print. The actual part being drawn will print, but the box at the bottom, where there should be the title block, is empty. I will upload the drawing files. Please help me out here, I can't figure it out.

*Pro
ampster
Posts: 1,130
Registered: ‎07-26-2005
Message 2 of 6 (157 Views)

Re: Title Block Won't Print

06-12-2014 11:01 AM in reply to: Harrauch

as I expected, some of the entites within your titleblock block are on the defpoints layer which doesn't print nor will you see any entities on the defpoints layer in a print preview.

 

Change all entities to something other than the defpoints layer and you should be good to go.

 

HTH

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,879
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 3 of 6 (154 Views)

Re: Title Block Won't Print

06-12-2014 11:08 AM in reply to: Harrauch
Why does your file have a double extension?
Many of the objects inside that rectagular block are on layer DEFPOINTS, a system layer that never ever prints. Go fix it and try again, it works fine after movning those to other layers.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Pro
ampster
Posts: 1,130
Registered: ‎07-26-2005
Message 4 of 6 (149 Views)

Re: Title Block Won't Print

06-12-2014 11:51 AM in reply to: pendean

Dean, I'm not able to correct this problem using the OP's file, even after moving the entites off the defpoints layer onto either the titleblock or 0 layers.

 

I can copy/paste the titleblock over to a new file and I see a full preview in the plot window.

 

I've even tried deleting and purging out the original block from the OP's file and inserting the block back in and still most of the titleblock does not show up in the print preview?!?!

 

I'm lost at this point.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,879
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 5 of 6 (140 Views)

Re: Title Block Won't Print

06-13-2014 06:41 AM in reply to: ampster

That scaled block is messed up in there big time, I agree. You can't even redefine it, just make a new one.

See attached, one exploded (works fine), one defined as a new block name.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
New Member
Harrauch
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-12-2014
Message 6 of 6 (133 Views)

Re: Title Block Won't Print

06-13-2014 06:52 PM in reply to: pendean

Yeah, I figured that out earlier today at work. It wasn't the same layer issue that most people thought it was. I knew it wasn't because I tried exploding everything, putting it all on the same layer, then putting it back together, saving it over, inserting it again, etc. etc. but it never worked.

 

I had originally pulled parts of that title block off of an old drawing, and some of those references just messed everything up. So, I copied the bare bones of the exploded block, all on Layer "0", copied them into a new drawing, making sure none of the old references/layers followed, and saved it as a new block. Then it worked fine. Problem solved. Thanks everyone.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community