Printing and Plotting

Reply
Member
CherylBeedon2642
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-09-2011
Message 1 of 7 (264 Views)
Accepted Solution

PDF exporting problems

264 Views, 6 Replies
07-28-2011 01:54 AM

I'm new to Autocad and am running AutoCad LT 2011. When i am using the export to PDF option I appear to have all the correct settings put not all of my page border exports, weird as it all prints out. I get the same problem whatever size page i export. I have tried the overide option and this just make more of the bordr disappear. I have shown an image below. Please can anyone help?

 

screenprint.JPG

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 20,234
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 7 (259 Views)

Re: PDF exporting problems

07-28-2011 08:28 AM in reply to: CherylBeedon2642

Slightly off topic, but is there a reason you don't want to PLOT or PUBLISH to PDF instead?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Member
CherylBeedon2642
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-09-2011
Message 3 of 7 (255 Views)

Re: PDF exporting problems

07-28-2011 08:41 AM in reply to: pendean

May just be the terminology I have used. I am using the PDF button on the Ouput Ribbon.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 20,234
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 7 (253 Views)

Re: PDF exporting problems

07-28-2011 09:05 AM in reply to: CherylBeedon2642

No, you are using EXPORTPDF command as you initially noted, no error on your part.

 

Does PUBLISH to PDF also present the same problem?

Are you by chance using a different PDF driver, not the built-in one, when you PLOT to PDF vs. when you EXPORTPDF?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
Posts: 888
Registered: ‎09-07-2004
Message 5 of 7 (245 Views)

Re: PDF exporting problems

07-28-2011 12:12 PM in reply to: pendean

I know if you use the standard DWG to PDF plot driver it has very large margins on two of the sides. I always customize the margins for that driver.

Member
CherylBeedon2642
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-09-2011
Message 6 of 7 (235 Views)

Re: PDF exporting problems

07-29-2011 01:29 AM in reply to: pendean

I have tried the Plotting to PDF and this works fine :smileyhappy:

Don't understand why the PDF button (EXport to PDF) doesn't work right, as it is a much quicker way of sending to PDF. Will use the publish/plot option as a work around until i manage to figure it out.

 

Thanks

 

Member
CherylBeedon2642
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-09-2011
Message 7 of 7 (233 Views)

Re: PDF exporting problems

07-29-2011 01:46 AM in reply to: CherylBeedon2642

Sorted :smileyhappy:

 

I looked at trying to change the page margins and found the problem. I had changed the page size to the A3 size (which i always do, hence me always having this problem, thought it neede to be the standard A3 to scale and print correct). After opening my template and finding as standard it is set to Full Bleed A3, I tried it and this has less page margin and fits all of my title block in.

 

Thanks for the help and advise.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community