Printing and Plotting

Reply
Member
deniscutter
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-22-2007
Message 1 of 10 (117 Views)

I don't 50 Page Setups!!

117 Views, 9 Replies
12-03-2007 01:03 PM
I have 5 printers I plot to, 2 pen styles, and 3 sheet sizes. As I see it I have to create a page set up for each combination and save this in my template so that I will have access to them when in the publish command.

Is this the only way?

Is there a way to make the page setups for the paper size and the pen styles, and then be able to select the plotter when I publish?

What ever happened to bacthplot?
*Leo the Builder
Message 2 of 10 (117 Views)

Re: I don't 50 Page Setups!!

12-03-2007 01:25 PM in reply to: deniscutter
I would create a page setup for plotting to the most used plotter.
When you want to plot a different plotter, just select that plotter from
the drop down box in the plot dialog.

Leo


wrote in message news:5791229@discussion.autodesk.com...
I have 5 printers I plot to, 2 pen styles, and 3 sheet sizes. As I see it I
have to create a page set up for each combination and save this in my
template so that I will have access to them when in the publish command.

Is this the only way?

Is there a way to make the page setups for the paper size and the pen
styles, and then be able to select the plotter when I publish?

What ever happened to bacthplot?
Member
deniscutter
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-22-2007
Message 3 of 10 (117 Views)

Re: I don't 50 Page Setups!!

12-03-2007 01:35 PM in reply to: deniscutter
Sorry I wasn't clear. I am creating these page setups to use in the publish dialog with multiple sheets and possibly saved sheet sets. I need to be able to these sheet sets to different printers.

If I have to go into the page set up, select a different plotter, save the drawing, and then use the "import" option in the publish dialog, I might as well make all the page setups.
*David Kozina
Message 4 of 10 (117 Views)

Re: I don't 50 Page Setups!!

12-03-2007 01:58 PM in reply to: deniscutter
Why not create the additional (atypical) page setups in a master drawing,
but keep just one or two typical setups in your main project files. Then
you could import the atypical ones only when you really need them.


wrote in message news:5791264@discussion.autodesk.com...
Sorry I wasn't clear. I am creating these page setups to use in the publish
dialog with multiple sheets and possibly saved sheet sets. I need to be
able to these sheet sets to different printers.

If I have to go into the page set up, select a different plotter, save the
drawing, and then use the "import" option in the publish dialog, I might as
well make all the page setups.
Member
deniscutter
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-22-2007
Message 5 of 10 (117 Views)

Re: I don't 50 Page Setups!!

12-03-2007 02:26 PM in reply to: deniscutter
This approash still means I have to create "all" the page setups.
*David Kozina
Message 6 of 10 (117 Views)

Re: I don't 50 Page Setups!!

12-03-2007 02:50 PM in reply to: deniscutter
Yes, but only once. (And probably less maintenance issues afterwards.)

wrote in message news:5791337@discussion.autodesk.com...
This approash still means I have to create "all" the page setups.
*Bob
Message 7 of 10 (117 Views)

Re: I don't 50 Page Setups!!

12-05-2007 04:09 AM in reply to: deniscutter
David is right and besides it only takes 2 minutes to setup a page layout.

"David Kozina" <"David Kozina"> wrote in message
news:5791393@discussion.autodesk.com...
Yes, but only once. (And probably less maintenance issues afterwards.)

wrote in message news:5791337@discussion.autodesk.com...
This approash still means I have to create "all" the page setups.
Distinguished Contributor
Rudedog
Posts: 1,222
Registered: ‎10-14-2004
Message 8 of 10 (117 Views)

Re: I don't 50 Page Setups!!

12-07-2007 11:19 AM in reply to: deniscutter
.... this is what electronic plots are really good for. Plot to a DWF driver. Then plot from the DWF to make hard copies on any print device that you wish....any size paper that you wish, including the one the sheet was created for.
Member
deniscutter
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-22-2007
Message 9 of 10 (117 Views)

Re: I don't 50 Page Setups!!

12-07-2007 11:42 AM in reply to: deniscutter
This is a pretty good suggestion. Unfortunately I am dealing with a user who feels there are already too many steps. I know what you are going to say. We just need some training. Hopefully this will be the thing that lets me push for training
Distinguished Contributor
Rudedog
Posts: 1,222
Registered: ‎10-14-2004
Message 10 of 10 (117 Views)

Re: I don't 50 Page Setups!!

12-13-2007 11:12 AM in reply to: deniscutter
Been there.

"Plotting to a DWF is actually fewer steps."
"We do the same thing every time."

"The DWF creates a 'printable copy' of the drawing. Now we can plot without disturbing our originals. Now we can plot without stopping what we are doing until the plot is done. This is just like creating a PDF out a MS Word document. No accidental changes. The plot stamp remains a constant on the printed hard copies......."

Need more arguments. Post back their arguments. Let's go skeet shooting!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community