Community
3ds Max Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Changing Particle speed over time?

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
katherinepyra
1782 Views, 6 Replies

Changing Particle speed over time?

Hello,
I am working on a project that requires me to have particles that increase and decrease their speed over time. I am fairly new to using the particle system in max, and I haven't been able to find any tutorials that have been able to help me with this. The particles need to gain speed over a period of time, and then slow back down. Does anyone have any ideas for how I could go about doing something like this? I am using pf source, I don't wish to download any external plugins(unless they are free for commercial use)

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
BenBisares
in reply to: katherinepyra

It depends on what you are using to make the particles move. Off the top of my head:

-If you are using the "Speed" operator you can animate the speed value

-Use forces like drag or wind to change their speed

-Use the "Speed Test" operator to take particles over/under a certain speed and then output them to another event where there's another operator that will change the speed

Can you show me an example or give more detail as to what you would like to achieve? I could then try to give you something more specific.

Ben Bisares
Message 3 of 7

Thanks for the response:)