PLM 360 General

Reply
Active Contributor
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎02-26-2010
Message 1 of 5 (201 Views)
Accepted Solution

Script to create Linked Items

201 Views, 4 Replies
10-18-2012 01:38 PM

I am currently looking at customizing the workflow for the Sales quote workspace. The concept I am working on is to use the linked items tab to add from the Items & BOMS WS the parts to be quoted. Then as part of the workflow I want to spawn RFQ’s in the RFQ WS.

 

Attached is the workflow for the sales quote and I have started the action script for the Submit to pricing Transition. I can get it to generate an RFQ record with out issue, but I want to send over the individual line items from the quote to the RFQ.

 

So two things come out of this thought:

 

  1. The spawned RFQ should really be a single RFQ for each default vendor from items sourcing information from the ITEMS&BOMS linked on the Sales quote. So in essence multiple RFQ’s for each Sales Quote are possible.
  2. If the first step is possible. What are the references required for the fields to be used in the script?
  3. Lastly once the RFQ is created Add the items to the Linked Items tab of the RFQ.

 

Or is this too much for the scripting. I could add the relationships tab and create relationships to RFQ's manually but was looking to automate that process.

Product Support
Posts: 271
Registered: ‎03-27-2012
Message 2 of 5 (186 Views)

Re: Script to create Linked Items

10-19-2012 06:39 AM in reply to: DonovanJr

Hi Bob,

 

(Not sure what you mean by “linked items”, but I am thinking you are talking about items in the grid tab, if not let me know, if so read on..)

 

When looking at the Sales Quote workspace, the items are added to the grid tab as a line item. You can use scripting to access items in the grid tab (Line items tab).  And transfer these to the RFQ workspace, adding these items to the grid tab (Items (For Quote)).

 

 To script for accessing the grid tab see (under the  “item Object Grid Array”)

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/PLM_360/enu/Help/Help/0085-Develope85/0086-Server-S86/0093-Scriptin93



Joe Piggee
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Contributor
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎02-26-2010
Message 3 of 5 (180 Views)

Re: Script to create Linked Items

10-19-2012 07:51 AM in reply to: DonovanJr

Joe,

 

I used the term linked items to refer to the workflow items tab

 

 

plm1.png

 

Which when you edit to add fields is named linked items.

 

plm2.png

 

Here is a better description (see below) of what I am trying to do and the issue I have found is getting access to information on the linked (workflow) items tab and then using it to refrence information from the record in the linked workscpace - Supplier or sourcing tab from items and boms, I am guessing that this information is not available to the scripting engine? I was hoping it was because when you create an advanced print view the information is available there?

 

Workflow & script action.

 

On transition to Submit to Pricing of Sales Quotes Workflow execute action sript to:

 

  • For each Item (found on the WorkFlow tab) on the Sales Quote:
  • Determine vendor (from item record sourcing tab - default only)
  • Add vendor to a collection (Array) if it does not already exist and associate the item with it
  • If vendor does exist, associate the item with the vendor
  • This leads to a collection of all vendors involved with the sales quote, and their associated items.  For each vendor in that collection:
  • Create a new RFQ record
  • Add each item to be quoted to that records workflow tab.

 

Regards,

 

Bob Donovan

 

Product Support
Posts: 271
Registered: ‎03-27-2012
Message 4 of 5 (177 Views)

Re: Script to create Linked Items

10-19-2012 08:31 AM in reply to: DonovanJr

Bob,

At this time fields on the Linked items tab is not accessible by scripting.

 

However you can modify the grid tab (Line items) to be a linking pick list, which looks like it would accomplish the same task it modified properly.

 

Then leverage that for your spawning, perhaps?



Joe Piggee
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Contributor
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎02-26-2010
Message 5 of 5 (173 Views)

Re: Script to create Linked Items

10-19-2012 09:07 AM in reply to: piggeej

That's too bad,

 

The grid list will work, I just loose the benifit of using the relationships that the linked item tab gives me.

 

Are there plans to include the various detail sections of the database in the API. I.E. Workflow, Relationships, BOM Details etc. in future releases?

 

BD

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community