PLM 360 General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
jdavis417
Posts: 297
Registered: ‎11-19-2008
Message 1 of 5 (124 Views)
Accepted Solution

Report produces Excel error message

124 Views, 4 Replies
10-25-2012 06:33 AM

EXCEL_ERROR_MSG_UPON_CREATION_OF_ALL_DRF_REPORT.png

 

While the file opens, upon SaveAs it seems to want to default to an .htm file set.

I'm using Inventor 2012 with Office 2010.  My browser is Chrome (yes, we think it's much better).

Board Manager
broepke
Posts: 155
Registered: ‎01-24-2004
Message 2 of 5 (121 Views)

Re: Report produces Excel error message

10-25-2012 07:36 AM in reply to: jdavis417

This is the current standard behaviour.  It actually uses an HTML based output to format for Excel.  We'd like to convert it to XLSX at some time in the future - but not currently planned.

 

In the meantime in Office 2010 or later (2007 even?) use the "Convert" funtion...  This works perfect.  Go ahead and open the file, use the "Convert" funtion and save it.  It will take the format and turn it automatically to the latest format and clean up the HTML version.

 

(This is the same convert that would be used to convert the old XLS to XLSX format)



Brian Roepke
Director of PLM & PDM
Autodesk, Inc.

Distinguished Contributor
jdavis417
Posts: 297
Registered: ‎11-19-2008
Message 3 of 5 (119 Views)

Re: Report produces Excel error message

10-25-2012 07:38 AM in reply to: broepke

Thanks, Brian.

 

I'll be posting the next "issues" on Importing soon!

Distinguished Contributor
jdavis417
Posts: 297
Registered: ‎11-19-2008
Message 4 of 5 (115 Views)

Re: Report produces Excel error message

10-25-2012 07:47 AM in reply to: broepke

I forgot to ask... what conversion needs to happen?

What "version" of Excel does PLM360 need?

Board Manager
broepke
Posts: 155
Registered: ‎01-24-2004
Message 5 of 5 (110 Views)

Re: Report produces Excel error message

10-25-2012 07:49 AM in reply to: jdavis417

PLM 360 doesn't need a certain version - the output is more of an open format that's compatible with Excel.  So by doing this "convert" it's just a way to change it from our outputted version to the standart latest Excel format.



Brian Roepke
Director of PLM & PDM
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Ask the Community