Community
The Community Room
The Community Room is a space to have conversations about anything you’d like to discuss with your fellow Engineers, Architects, Designers and basically all community members in here.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Online-Survey: Oculus Rift for architectural visualizations

1 REPLY 1
Message 1 of 2
Anonymous
415 Views, 1 Reply

Online-Survey: Oculus Rift for architectural visualizations

Hi everbody,

my name Joe Wälter and I am currently studying Digital Film Making/3D Animation in Bochum, Germany.

For my Honours Thesis I am going to research the chances of the Oculus Rift to be used as a cheap but efficient Virtual Reality Device for architectural visualizations.

My methodology consists mainly of two different approaches:

I have created an interior visualization of an office, which I am going to present to a small audience in three steps:

1. As “bare” photorealistic renderings, printed on photo paper
  2. As photorealistic 360° panoramic renderings, which can be explored with the Oculus rift.
    This presentation reacts to head-tracking and supports 3d stereoscopy.
  3. As an interactive VR-Environment, programmed in Unity3D. The benefits are the same as in step 2 plus the user can move and interact with the environment (e.g. open doors) with a wireless game controller. Disadvantage: Not as (photo)realistic as the renderings.

With this approach I want to work out whether the Oculus is an enrichment to a potential customer by investigating, how they react to different kinds of presentations.

My second approach aims at the technical background – will there be enough support by the developers/communities and are 3d artists interested in producing VR content at all.

For this purpose I am asking you: