Navisworks General

Reply
Member
kwonyong
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-13-2011
Message 1 of 3 (148 Views)
Accepted Solution

(how do we select items/materials by each floor/level?

148 Views, 2 Replies
11-19-2011 08:14 AM

My question: How do we select(attach) items(materials) by each floor instead of linking(Attaching) every single items to time liner?

I have a 4 stories building which has Structure and MEP together.
I am going to make a construction process video with my Navisworks.
After importing my Revit files(combined files- MEP and Arch.)to Navisworks Manager 2012 , I try to select items by floor.
e.g. when I try to select all diffusers on the 1st floor, I couldn't select the diffusers on the 1st floor. I'm only able to choose either all of the diffusers for entire building or one item at a time. I wish I could choose all diffusers on the 1st floor only at a time, and attach it to the 1st floor air terminal schedule. And then go to 2nd floor to attach the diffusers on the 2nd floor to the lime liner.

Is there any way that I could choose/attach the same category items by each floor(level)?? If not, it will take forever.......

Thanks in advance.

Product Support
lee.mullin
Posts: 479
Registered: ‎10-02-2007
Message 2 of 3 (133 Views)

Re: (how do we select items/materials by each floor/level?

11-23-2011 01:56 AM in reply to: kwonyong

The general rule for this is to set up rules in Timeliner to map a Property to the Task Name. This may need some work at an earlier step to ensure your schedule has names that can be easily mapped to.

 

However with Revit there would need to be an extra step at the modelling stage as there is currently a limitation where if items span more than one level, then in Navisworks we will view these as <No Level>. Which means you may need to be more careful and detailed on your model to ensure that these items are on a single level.

Alternatively you may want to create a different Type for each level, and each type have an additional property that defines this as 'Level 4' for example. You can then create Search Sets based on this property and again use rules to match these to the Tasks.

 

Let us know how you get on


Lee Mullin
Product Support Specialist
Global Services
Autodesk Ltd.


Member
kwonyong
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-13-2011
Message 3 of 3 (129 Views)

Re: (how do we select items/materials by each floor/level?

11-23-2011 05:11 AM in reply to: lee.mullin

Thanks.
I ealready linked most items by hands. Took a while.
Yeah, Navisworks is a pretty good tool, but it is sometimes painful when it comes to the selection of the items by level.

I will do what you told me on next project.
wish the very next version of Navisworks would be smarte than 2012.


Thank you.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community