Navisworks General

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎07-04-2012
Message 1 of 5 (298 Views)

Transformation One Axis ONLY!

298 Views, 4 Replies
07-20-2012 06:24 PM

So we can only transform along a single cartisian value? i.e along X once. stop then Y, stop then rotate.

We've been working for 16 hours, searching forums, re-reading doc's and came to conclusion Navis transform is out to destroy our sanity.

Please advise.

Our work around is to ever so delicately transform in one axis - using AutoCAD to determine the center of the initial rotation then along the X then the Y using a background control file to QC results.

 

Insane.

 

2013 Navis Manage SP1

 

Alumni
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 5 (285 Views)

Re: Transformation One Axis ONLY!

07-23-2012 10:00 AM in reply to: gregoryx.robinson

Hi gregoryx.robinson


There are two methods to rotate a model in Navisworks

1. To rotate an entire cad file about a single axis you can use File Units and Transform. In the dialog, you enter the degrees of rotation and a point for the vector of the axis to rotate.  For example, to rotate about the x axis, you enter 1 0 0.  If you want rotate about a vector that runs from 0,0,0 to  1,1,1, you enter 1,1,1.

2. You can also rotate an entire file or individual items using Item Tools > Transform > Rotate.  Rather than manually dragging the gizmo, if you need precise rotation, you are able to slide out the transform panel, and enter XYZ values for the origin of the rotation and degrees to rotate about XYZ.  You can rotate multple times for instances about the Z axis and then about the X axis.

If you have a recommendation for another functionality, I recommend sending this through our feedback portal here:
 - http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=1109794

Our development monitors the information that is sent through this page.


Best regards,



John Lipp
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Mentor
Posts: 315
Registered: ‎02-19-2010
Message 3 of 5 (277 Views)

Re: Transformation One Axis ONLY!

07-24-2012 01:45 AM in reply to: gregoryx.robinson

Other way:

append the CAD files in a "wouraround"NavisWorks nwf", use File units and transform to Rotate in one direction (so that Z is up) around 0,0,0 and to scale to the right dimension.

Save as NWD

 

Append these NWD in your real Navisworks, use File units and transform to Rotate in the direction (so that X is north or whatever) around 0,0,0 and to move to the right location.

 

 

Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎07-04-2012
Message 4 of 5 (268 Views)

Re: Transformation One Axis ONLY!

07-25-2012 09:11 PM in reply to: john.lipp

John, use that method to transform 3 to 4 hundred meg files from ...

Use Grid Point R.21 for point of rotation.
The 66.63277777777778 deg rotation the transformation center is:

D1X Grid Point R.21 is:
X=92348.04438717   X= 7695'-8.04438717"    X= 7695.71105383666666666666666666666667
Y=203078.29853832  Y=16923'-2.29853832"    Y= 16923.46520498666666666666666666666667
Z=0

OC23 Grid Point R.21 is:
X=72659.80327830  X=6054'-11.80327830"   X=  6054ft 11.80327830  X= 6054.983607 

Y=109949.89466498 Y=9162'-5.89466498"    Y=  9162ft 5.89466498   Y= 9162.491222
Z=94'-1.00000000"

Delta X is: -1640'-8.24110888"       -19688.24110888
Delta Y is: -7760'-8.40387334"       -93128.40387334
Delta Z is: -94'-1.00000000"

and tell me how it works, because we're just not getting it, and your reply is as unhelpfull as the Navis Help files.

 

To date the only success is to use the transform for the delta X,Y them re-establish the ceter of the rotation in the Items Tools rotate area and enter the values using the ft as a delimiter between the feet and decimal inches, I mean who pyt ft in a numerical value? what are you guys thinking? Play with it and watch how it changes the numbers you add in the dialog boxes and inserts the ft.

 

 

Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎07-04-2012
Message 5 of 5 (254 Views)

Re: Transformation One Axis ONLY!

07-29-2012 04:11 PM in reply to: gregoryx.robinson

Thanks to Jerry Peach of M & W - who was able to explain and show us what we were doing wrong.

Using Units and transform from contect menu (Not Item Tools!!!)

 

Units: Inches
Origin(ft):
X (ft)18537.87670825250000    Y (ft) -4614.11629653750000   Degrees  66.6327777780000000


Translate 18537.87670825250000    -4614.11629653750000

Rotation:
66.6327777780000000     Degrees About

0           0            1

 

it worked. Problem appears to be the dialog can not accept "ft" as indicated.

 

Thanks Jerry!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community