Navisworks General

Reply
Valued Contributor
AnmarieJames8335
Posts: 79
Registered: ‎06-09-2010
Message 1 of 6 (552 Views)

Revit models (nwc's) don't line up in Navisworks

552 Views, 5 Replies
04-27-2012 02:37 PM

Hi all,

 

I created 2 models in Revit - 1 arch, 1 electrical. They line up just fine in Revit. But today when I created an NWC of each model and brought them into Navis, they didn't line up.  I can't figure out why, or how to fix it.

 

Looking at other posts, I checked that the project basepoint locations are the same in each Revit file.  They are. I also checked the Importer to see if I was using Shared or Project Internal Coordinates. I tried it both ways, neither works.

 

When bringing the files into Navisworks (Manage 2012...from Revit 2012), I tried using open and selecting them both. I tried using Append and selecting the both, then selecting them 1 at a time. No difference.

 

I'm fairly new to Navis, so I'm open to any ideas.

 

AJ

Valued Mentor
dennis
Posts: 701
Registered: ‎07-29-2005
Message 2 of 6 (542 Views)

Re: Revit models (nwc's) don't line up in Navisworks

04-30-2012 05:25 AM in reply to: AnmarieJames8335

How was the RVT model setup in the first place?  Was "origin to origin" used?  If so, then you are right to be confused.  If "center to center" was used, then that would be the reason for the problem you are having now.  If they are aligned correctly in your RVT file, try Exporting out the NWC with the option to grab links as well.  Then you will have just one NWC with both files.  Use the NW Appearance Profiler to get the two files to color differently if you so wish.

Valued Contributor
AnmarieJames8335
Posts: 79
Registered: ‎06-09-2010
Message 3 of 6 (536 Views)

Re: Revit models (nwc's) don't line up in Navisworks

04-30-2012 08:00 AM in reply to: dennis

It was so long ago when I created these files, I don't actually remember, but I would assume I used origin to origin, simply because that's been my default for 15 years of Autocad and "center to center" seems weird to me. Having said that, the project base point in both files is in the same place relative to the building. Doesn't that confirm alignment of some type?

 

Whatever that issue, I did as you suggested and brought them in as one NWC. That seems to be working out just fine.

 

It would be nice to understand how this happens, so I can avoid it or manage it more efficiently in the future.

 

Thanks,

AJ

New Member
cdover13
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-09-2012
Message 4 of 6 (512 Views)

Re: Revit models (nwc's) don't line up in Navisworks

05-09-2012 07:33 PM in reply to: AnmarieJames8335
I had this problem the other day, but they were just at different elevations. If you look under the selection tree, it shows link base points. Check to see if they are the exact same for each link. Best of luck!
Valued Contributor
AnmarieJames8335
Posts: 79
Registered: ‎06-09-2010
Message 5 of 6 (502 Views)

Re: Revit models (nwc's) don't line up in Navisworks

05-11-2012 01:06 PM in reply to: cdover13
Can you elaborate on that? I don't see anything about links in the selection tree except hyperlinks. I think you're on to something with the base points being off, because some of my light fixtures appear to be about 3 feet outside the room they're intended for. The elevations of the 2 nwc files match. Anmarie
New Member
cdover13
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-09-2012
Message 6 of 6 (501 Views)

Re: Revit models (nwc's) don't line up in Navisworks

05-11-2012 05:17 PM in reply to: AnmarieJames8335
Right click on the link and look for "units and transform". I think you are able to set the location from the pop-up box.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community