Navisworks General

Reply
Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-03-2010
Message 1 of 6 (1,453 Views)
Accepted Solution

Revit 2013 to Navisworks 2013 switchback refresh

1453 Views, 5 Replies
11-16-2012 02:12 PM

Hello, I can not seem to get the switchback refresh in navisworks to work.  Here is what I have done so far:

 

I've exported a Revit file out to Navisworks 2013, opened the .nwc and saved the file as a .nwf, used the switchback in navisworks to highlight the element in Revit, made changes in Revit to the element, saved the Revit file, selected the add-in switchback in Revit, and once in Naviswork refreshed the file.  However, nothering happens when I select refresh.

 

Thanks for the help.

Alumni
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 6 (1,418 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 to Navisworks 2013 switchback refresh

11-19-2012 12:51 PM in reply to: jnovella1520

Hi jnovella1520


You exported to an NWC, made a change in Revit and resaved in Revit, but after resaving the RVT in Revit, did you also re-export it overwriting the old NWC that is currently open? 

To overwrite the NWC that is currently open in Navisworks, you’ll need to click Application Button > Options > Model > Performance > and mark “Close NWC/NWD on load.”  Otherwise you’ll have an issue overwriting the file when it is currently open.

Please try exporting out the NWC after making the changes in Revit and prior to refreshing the model in Navisworks and let me know if that resolves the issue.


Best regards



John Lipp
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-03-2010
Message 3 of 6 (1,410 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 to Navisworks 2013 switchback refresh

11-19-2012 01:10 PM in reply to: john.lipp

Hi John, 

Thanks for the reply and help.  "Close NWC/NWD on Load" worked.  I did have one other question though, is there a setting that will update the nwc file whenever you save the revit file?  I watched this video on the Naviswork Switchback funtion: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uaNcWblABiI&feature=youtu.be  and around the 3 min mark she demonstrates the refresh switchback funtion without re-exporting and saving over the nwc file.  Just wondering if that was edited out or if there is a setting that I can choose. 

Thanks

Justin.

Alumni
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 6 (1,402 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 to Navisworks 2013 switchback refresh

11-19-2012 02:39 PM in reply to: jnovella1520

Thank you for the update.  You can either open the RVT file directly or export to an NWC file from Revit and open that in Navisworks.

In the video, she is opening the RVT directly in Navisworks rather than exporting to an NWC.  If you open the RVT directly in Navisworks, when you resave the RVT in Revit after making changes, because the file is being read directly Navisworks, you are able to refresh the changes.

However, if you export to an NWC file, when you resave your RVT after making changes, the NWC file that Navisworks is loading isn't automatically updated.  If you are exporting to an NWC, you'll need to export and overwrite the NWC loaded in Navisworks to have the updates included in the NWC.

 - John

Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-03-2010
Message 5 of 6 (1,387 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 to Navisworks 2013 switchback refresh

11-20-2012 07:38 AM in reply to: jnovella1520

Hi John,

 

Ok, thats what it was.  Thanks again for the help!

Mentor
Posts: 248
Registered: ‎03-02-2012
Message 6 of 6 (113 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 to Navisworks 2013 switchback refresh

03-24-2014 05:08 PM in reply to: jnovella1520

Hi, I am having the same problem as described in this post, but it still will not let me export my nwc while I have It open in navisworks, even though I have the  "Close NWC/NWD files on load" box checked. Am I missining something? I am using Navisworks 2014, please help!! I want a fast way to switch back and forth between navisworks and revit as I fix changes, and this way is ridiculous. thanks,

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community