Navisworks General

Reply
Contributor
gilbertm
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-19-2008
Message 1 of 4 (952 Views)

Point Clouds Resolution

952 Views, 3 Replies
08-26-2011 12:30 PM

When using point cloud files, is there a way to keep the resolution of the point cloud consistant?  For example, when navigating throught the model using the Walk Command, in some areas ahead are really dense with points but as you near the area it is no longer dense with points.  Is there a way to change the density of the point cloud?

 

Thanks in advance.

Alumni
john.lipp
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 4 (927 Views)

Re: Point Clouds Resolution

08-29-2011 09:20 AM in reply to: gilbertm

Hi gilbertm,


Navisworks will display the points uniformly, so in perspective mode, points that are further away will appear closer together.  This will cause point clouds to appear dense further away and less dense as you near.  You can change the camera to Orthographic mode in the Camera panel of the Viewpoint tab.

You can change the density of the point cloud in the options editor:

1. Click Application Button > Options.

2. Expand File Reader and select the format of your point cloud

3. Adjust the Sample rate, 1 in _


For example, if your point cloud had 1 million points, setting it to 1 in 2 would result in 500,000 points, 1 in 4 would be 250,000, and so on.  You can check the number of points by sliding out the Project panel in the Home tab and selecting Scene Statistics. 

The reason that some areas are denser could be that the scanner was closer to those surfaces.  For example, if you placed the scanner in the corner of a room, the points bouncing off those corner walls would be denser than those on the farther opposite side of the room.

Or perhaps you have multiple scans and some scans generated more points. If you do have multiple scans and you want to set the sample rate individually for those scans, you can set the sample rate before loading the point cloud, load the file, and then save to an NWD with that sample rate.  Then repeat this process with different sample rates for your other scans and append the resulting NWD files rather than the point cloud files.

Please let me know if this helps.


Best regards,



John Lipp
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Contributor
dhurst12
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎12-21-2009
Message 3 of 4 (885 Views)

Re: Point Clouds Resolution

09-06-2011 08:28 AM in reply to: john.lipp

The problem is, that the "points" stay the same size no matter how close you get to them; they are always one pixel.  Somethimes changing the point size to 2 or three pixels makes the cloud look better.  You can change this in the display options with the pull down for "Point Size"  It would be nice if Navisworks displayed the cloud the same way the cloud tool for 3DsMax does. (i.e. the points can be discs or cubes that always face the camera)

Alumni
john.lipp
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 4 (877 Views)

Re: Point Clouds Resolution

09-06-2011 10:42 AM in reply to: dhurst12

Hi dhurst12,

Thank you for the update and for clarifying the issue. You are correct that Navisworks will display the same sized point regardless of the distance. I like your suggestion of how 3DS Max allows for the different display of points. I recommend logging a feature enhancement request for this in the software on our feedback page:

- http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=1109794

I’m glad to hear you were able to improve the display by setting the point size in the options editor. Thank you for pointing this out, as others may prefer changing this setting as well.

Best regards,



John Lipp
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community