Navisworks General

Reply
New Member
eskisa
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-29-2011
Message 1 of 7 (987 Views)
Accepted Solution

Navisworks Simulate Walk Tool

987 Views, 6 Replies
06-29-2011 01:41 PM

When I select the "Walk" tool, my model disappears.

Valued Mentor
Rich.O.3d
Posts: 519
Registered: ‎08-19-2008
Message 2 of 7 (982 Views)

Re: Navisworks Simulate Walk Tool

06-29-2011 04:22 PM in reply to: eskisa

this could be due to navis switching from ortho to perspective when you pick the walk tool...right click on an item in the tree, there should be an option to focus on item...that might help you find your model.

also there could be 'space junk' in you model that is a long way from the geometry that you want to look at...nav could be zooming to extents.

CAD Management 101:
You can do it your own way,
If its done just how I say!
[Metallica:And Justice For All:1988]
Product Support
dembkod
Posts: 503
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 3 of 7 (971 Views)

Re: Navisworks Simulate Walk Tool

06-30-2011 08:34 AM in reply to: eskisa

eskisa ,

 

Hello. It’s possible you have to adjust your clipping plane settings:

 

1.)   Open your model

2.)   On the Home tab, click “File Options”

3.)   Access the “Culling” pane

4.)   Set your “Near” clipping Plane to “Fixed” and enter a low number. This is where the model will clip the near plane. Enter “-10” to start

5.)   Click “OK”

6.)   If you need to adjust the “Far” clipping plane, enter a large number.

 

You can also try to adjust your Camera Position on the Viewpoint > Camera dropdown.

 or the camera view.

 

Thank you for participating in our community!

 

David Dembkoski

 

ADSK_logo_discussion.png

 

Product Support Specialist

Autodesk Product Support

 



David Dembkoski
New Member
eskisa
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-29-2011
Message 4 of 7 (966 Views)

Re: Navisworks Simulate Walk Tool

06-30-2011 09:09 AM in reply to: dembkod

Thanks!  That fixed my problem.

 

Cheers

Contributor
StephenHenshall1260
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎06-28-2010
Message 5 of 7 (694 Views)

Re: Navisworks Simulate Walk Tool

09-27-2012 03:35 AM in reply to: dembkod

If the user is required to use "fixed" settings why is there an "automatic"? I currently generate models every night with clipping planes set to automatic. Some days this works fine, other days I get this problem, but only for some saved views. I then have to instruct users to set a low/high number setting, try it again and it works. If we then reset to automatic, it seems to function ok. looks like a bug in the automatic calculation to me

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,044
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 6 of 7 (686 Views)

Re: Navisworks Simulate Walk Tool

09-27-2012 11:34 AM in reply to: StephenHenshall1260

Automatic is nice for those with low- to mid-quality computers and little computer knowledge, at least with the far clipping plane.  In theory the automatic calculation should take care of that without users having to mess around with the settings.

 

Can anybody/AutoDesk comment on the procedure used for automatically calculating the clipping plane distances?  In some cases the near plane is visibly "forward" of the viewpoint, which then needs to be reset as noted.  I have never been able to suss out exactly what pushes the near clipping plane to that point, and it would be useful to know.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


New Member
Chadr
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-10-2013
Message 7 of 7 (526 Views)

Re: Navisworks Simulate Walk Tool

01-10-2013 12:39 PM in reply to: dembkod

Fixed my Issue. Thanks

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community