Community
Navisworks Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Navisworks Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Navisworks topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Navisworks Quantification

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
katiebacon
472 Views, 6 Replies

Navisworks Quantification

Hi,

I'm relatively new to using quantification on Navisworks. I have a project which requires the model elements to be detailed to match LOD 200. I modelled a 3D project in AutoCAD 2014, using loft and extrusion and in places using surfaces to make the structure look correct. Now I've appended this drawing to Navis, and have added a timeliner to show the progress, but quantification doesn't seem to work. Am I missing something here? Do I need to add properties to my surfaces in AutoCAD to allow the quantification process to take place?

Katie

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
dgorsman
in reply to: katiebacon

From what I've researched, Quantification only works for a specific number of applications which doesn't include vanilla AutoCAD.  Makes sense though - there is no defined data in AutoCAD to count.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
"I don't know" is the beginning of knowledge, not the end.

Message 3 of 7
katiebacon
in reply to: dgorsman

Do you mean to say that I should have used a different programme to model to allow quantification to work? Is there a way that I can export the information on AutoCAD to a different programme to allow the quantification process to work? Which software am I best using?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tony Gee and Partners LLP, 4th Floor, 183 St. Vincent Street, Glasgow, G2 5QD, UK.
Tel: +44 (0)141 226 2470, Web: www.tonygee.com
NCE/ACE Consultant of the Decade (SME Category)