Navisworks General

Reply
Active Contributor
BigAl70454
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎09-22-2009
Message 1 of 4 (1,145 Views)

Faro 5

1145 Views, 3 Replies
10-02-2012 08:23 AM

Is it possible to open Faro 5.0.1.28807 64-bit .fls files with Navisworks Manage 2012 32-bit, or any of Autodesk's 32-bit products?  Is this format supported yet?  We've tried and keep getting the "file does not exist error"

Product Support
Lance.Coffey
Posts: 314
Registered: ‎05-14-2010
Message 2 of 4 (1,110 Views)

Re: Faro 5

10-04-2012 11:50 AM in reply to: BigAl70454

I don't believe that FLS files created on a 64-bit system would have issues when used on a 32-bit system, other than the potential for larger files to be usable on 64-bit systems (due to less memory limitations).

 

When Navisworks 2012 was released, Faro files up to version 4.6 were supported. The Subscription Advantage Pack for Navisworks brought the supported version up to 4.8.

 

Faro has released a Scene 5.0 SDK which may allow you to open 5.0 files in versions of Navisworks that do not officially support the 5.0 version.

 

You can download these from the following links:

32-bit:

http://www.faro.com/downloads/training/LS/Scene%205.0%20SDK/E993_FARO_LS_SDK_5.0.1.28807_x86_Setup.e...

64-bit:

http://www.faro.com/downloads/training/LS/Scene%205.0%20SDK/E992_FARO_LS_SDK_5.0.1.28807_x64_Setup.e...

 

Note: If using a 64-bit operating system, you should install both.

 

If installing the SDK(s) alone does not allow you to open the Faro 5.0 FLS files, you may need to copy the files from the C:\Windows\winsxs\{amd64_faro.ls_XXX} folder into the C:\Program Files\Autodesk\{Navisworks Version} folder.

 

If this doesn't work for you with Navisworks Manage 2012/2013, you could also try going through similar steps to update AutoCAD (2011-2013) by copying into the C:\Program Files\Autodesk\{AutoCAD Version}\IndexCodecs folder.



Lance Coffey
Active Contributor
BigAl70454
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎09-22-2009
Message 3 of 4 (1,089 Views)

Re: Faro 5

10-08-2012 08:14 AM in reply to: BigAl70454

Installed the SDK, copied all the DLL files to NW Manage 2012 folder.  First error was "out of memery, reduce memory use under global options, model performance"  Did that, now we're getting "out of memory" error and Navisworks crashes.  The model we are trying to open is less than 500mb.  We can open much larger models with no problem.  Have no problem opening .fls 4.8 files either.

Product Support
Lance.Coffey
Posts: 314
Registered: ‎05-14-2010
Message 4 of 4 (1,075 Views)

Re: Faro 5

10-09-2012 03:48 PM in reply to: BigAl70454

Each process on a 32-bit system is limited to a maximum of 2GBS of memory usage (unless you enable the 3GB switch, but this can cause problems with some graphics cards).

 

Do you have any smaller Faro 5.0 files that you can test?



Lance Coffey

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community