Navisworks General

Reply
Contributor
KempCE
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎08-02-2011
Message 1 of 3 (87 Views)

Excluding Layers On DWG Publishing

87 Views, 2 Replies
05-30-2012 05:24 AM

I have a DWG & I want to create a NWD file, but I want To Exclude Some Layers! Is this possible, or Do I have to do a pre-processing routine?

 

Colin

Employee
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Message 2 of 3 (85 Views)

Re: Excluding Layers On DWG Publishing

05-30-2012 12:15 PM in reply to: KempCE

Hi Colin,

 

I'm not aware of any direct way to exclude specific layers when creating a Navisworks file from a DWG at this time. Depending on what you want to exclude and why, it might be that you can just Hide them in Navisworks prior to publishing.

 

However, you might be able to approach this by leveraging the DWG conversion options of Convert Off and/or Convert Frozen. Entities that fall into those categories should not appear in your NWC/NWD with one or more of those options turned off. You can access the options for the exporter via the command nwopt, and the options for the file loader in Navisworks Global Options.

 

Hope that helps,

 

Jeff



Senior Software Engineer
Navisworks
Autodesk Ltd.
Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎04-11-2008
Message 3 of 3 (68 Views)

Re: Excluding Layers On DWG Publishing

06-06-2012 01:51 AM in reply to: KempCE

You can easily make a search set, where you'll choose needed layer. After that you can turn it on/off

 

Good luck

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community