Navisworks General

Reply
Contributor
gregoryx.robinson
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎07-04-2012
Message 1 of 5 (536 Views)

Correcting Switchback to run in both 2012 & 2013 pointing to 2012

536 Views, 4 Replies
07-29-2012 07:11 PM

Any body know the method to assure 2012 and 2013 NWDOUT arx programs are correctly registered to their respective applications?

 

Running both and 2013 fails without message - 2012 displays dialog requesting user select 2012 / 2013 nwout commands.

 

Thanks in advance

Alumni
john.lipp
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 5 (516 Views)

Re: Correcting Switchback to run in both 2012 & 2013 pointing to 2012

08-02-2012 08:28 AM in reply to: gregoryx.robinson

Hi gregoryx.robinson


The NWDOUT command is no longer available in the 2012 or 2013 version of the exporters.  However, you should be able to run NWCOUT to export to an NWC file.  Are you able to export through the NWCOUT command in AutoCAD 2013?

If you are running into issues exporting, you should be able to manually uninstall/reinstall the exporters:

1. Open Control Panel > Programs

2. Select Autodesk Navisworks 2013 64-bit Exporter Plugins in the list of plugins

3. Select File > Uninstall/Change

4. In the installer window, select Add or Remove Features

5. Unmark the AutoCAD 2013 checkbox and click Update to uninstall the 2013 plugin and click update

6. Repeat steps 1-4,

7. Leave AutoCAD 2013 marked to install the plugin and click update

If you have further issues, try using the APPLOAD command to load the nwexport2013.arx  from the 2013 exporter for AutoCAD 2013 found under the folder :
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk Shared\Navisworks\2013\nwexport2013


Best regards,




John Lipp
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Contributor
gregoryx.robinson
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎07-04-2012
Message 3 of 5 (510 Views)

Re: Correcting Switchback to run in both 2012 & 2013 pointing to 2012

08-02-2012 09:55 AM in reply to: gregoryx.robinson

John, I've placed typos in my orig post- (Me not paying attention)

NWLOAD is the command not NWCout

That aside this method may correct registration and I will do that ASAP... and report back.

Contributor
gregoryx.robinson
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎07-04-2012
Message 4 of 5 (505 Views)

Re: Correcting Switchback to run in both 2012 & 2013 pointing to 2012

08-02-2012 03:39 PM in reply to: gregoryx.robinson

John, I've confirmed the process you outlined (I understand the approach and it should preform as you expected) does not work on this machine.

I suspect it's part of the protection Intel has placed on the hard drives. My approach is now to involve IT and ask an Enterprise Admin to execute the change under their login.

Currently no matter what I do no changes take place - the reinstall/change always resets to "defaults" - You simply can not modify the exporters.

 

Contributor
gregoryx.robinson
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎07-04-2012
Message 5 of 5 (450 Views)

Re: Correcting Switchback to run in both 2012 & 2013 pointing to 2012

08-23-2012 02:31 PM in reply to: gregoryx.robinson

While this issue was not resolved, the SSD on this computer did fail right after this problem. After receiving the new drive, Installing autocad 2012, then Object Enablers, then Navis 2012, testing switch back, then same process with 2013, both versions worked.

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community